Story Links

Aug. 26, 2015

Oracle ITA Singles Draw | Oracle ITA Doubles Draw

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia men’s tennis senior Ryan Shane (Falls Church, Va.) and junior Luca Corinteli (Alexandria, Va.) have been selected to compete in the inaugural Oracle/ITA Masters Tournament, being held Sept. 18-20 at the Malibu Racquet Cub in Malibu, Calif. The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the field Tuesday.

Shane will be competing in singles as well as partnering with Corinteli in doubles.

The Oracle/ITA Masters is the first national collegiate championship of the 2015-16 season and will feature sixteen of the top returning Division I men’s and women’s singles players, along with eight outstanding men’s and women’s doubles teams.

The men’s singles draw features six players that ended the 2014-15 season ranked in the top-15 of the Oracle/ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings, including the top two players in Oklahoma’s Axel Alvarez Llamas (No. 1) and NCAA Singles Champion Shane (No. 2).

In doubles, two top-five teams highlight the draw. Georgia’s Ben Wagland and Austin Smith ended 2014-15 ranked No. 2 in the nation, with Shane and Corinteli at No. 5. LSU’s Boris Arias and Jordan Daigle (No. 12), Florida State’s Benjamin Lock and Marco Nunez (No. 20) and Notre Dame’s Eddy Covalschi and Josh Hagar (No. 35) are other returning duos to compete in Malibu.

Virginia’s Danielle Collins and Julia Elbaba will be competing in the women’s tournament.

Tournament pairings for all four draws will be announced in the coming weeks.

Men’s Singles Competitor List
Axel Alvarez Llamas, Oklahoma
Ryan Shane, Virginia
Julian Lenz, Baylor
Quentin Monaghan, Notre Dame
Andrew Harris, Oklahoma
Nicolas Alvarez, Duke
Dominik Koepfer, Tulane
Romain Bogaerts, Wake Forest
Jared Hiltzik, Illinois
Ronnie Schneider, North Carolina
Cameron Norrie, TCU
Wayne Montgomery, Georgia

Men’s Doubles Competitor List
Ben Wagland/Austin Smith, Georgia
Luca Corinteli / Ryan Shane, Virginia
Boris Arias/Jordan Daigle, LSU
Benjamin Lock/Marco Nunez, Florida State
Eddy Covalschi/Josh Hagar, Notre Dame
Julian Lenz/Max Tchoutakian, Baylor
Alex Lawson/Quentin Monaghan, Notre Dame
Guilherme Hadlich/Gabriel Sidney, Pepperdine
Austin Smith, Georiga
Guillermo Nunez, TCU
Max Tchoutakian, Baylor
Felipe Soares, Texas Tech

Print Friendly Version