Story Links

Sept. 15, 2015

Complete ITA Singles Rankings | Complete ITA Doubles Rankings

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Virginia men’s tennis team had six individuals receive preseason singles rankings Tuesday (Sept. 15) from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. The Cavaliers also had two doubles teams ranked in the top-15.

The Cavaliers had two players earn a spot in the ITA preseason top-10 with senior Ryan Shane (Falls Church, Va.), the 2015 NCAA Singles Champion, ranked second and junior Thai-Son Kwiatkowski (Charlotte, N.C.) ranked eighth. Oklahoma was the only other school to have two players ranked in the top-10.

Other players receiving a preseason ranking were sophomore Collin Altamirano (Sacramento, Calif.) at No. 27, sophomore Alexander Ritschard (Zurich, Switzerland) at No. 115, and junior J.C. Aragone (Yorba Linda, Calif.) at No. 123 and junior Mac Styslinger (Birmingham, Ala.) at No. 125.

The doubles team of Shane and junior Luca Corinteli (Alexandria, Va.) is ranked second with Styslinger and Kwiatkoski ranked 13th. Virginia was the only school to have more than one doubles pairing ranked in the top-15.

Shane and Corintelli will be competing in doubles this weekend at the inaugural Oracle/ITA Masters Tournament in Malibu, Calif., the first national collegiate championship of the 2015-16 season that features sixteen of the top returning Division I men’s and women’s singles players, along with eight outstanding men’s and women’s doubles teams. Shane will also be playing in the singles tournament.

Aragone, Kwiatkowski, Ritschard and Styslinger, along with their teammates senior Jonathan Cornish (London, England), redshirt junior Harrison Richmond (Pawley’s Island, S.C.) and sophomore Henrik Wiersholm (Kirkland, Wash.) will be in playing in the 10th Annual UVa Ranked 1+1 Tournament being held Friday-Sunday at the Snyder Tennis Center. In addition to the seven Cavaliers, the field for the UVa Ranked 1+1 Tournament will feature all ITA-ranked players, including some of the top talent in the nation, from Virginia Tech, Wake Forest University, Miami, North Florida, Penn State, Kentucky, ETSU, and VCU.

Print Friendly Version