Story Links

Oct. 13, 2015

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon was one of 20 players named to the 2016 Jerry West Award Preseason Watch List, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Tuesday (Oct. 13). The Jerry West Award is awarded annually to the nation’s best shooting guard.

Brogdon earned All-ACC first-team and All-American second-team honors last season after leading Virginia to its second straight 30-win season and back-to-back ACC regular-season championships. Brogdon averaged a team-leading 14.0 points and added 3.9 rebounds and 2.7 assists per game. Brogdon was a finalist for the U.S. Basketball Writers Association Oscar Robertson Player of the Year, John Wooden Award and Jerry West Award in 2014-15.

Named after Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, the annual honor is in its second year. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2016 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. West and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2016 Jerry West Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show live from Club Nokia in Los Angeles, Calif., on Friday, April 8, 2016. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Last season, D’Angelo Russell of Ohio State was named the inaugural winner of the 2016 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award. Please visit for more information and complete list of 2016 Jerry West Award candidates.

Print Friendly Version