Story Links

Nov. 4, 2015

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia field hockey midfielders Lucy Hyams and Tara Vittese were named to the 2015 All-ACC Field Hockey First Team, as announced Wednesday (Nov. 4) by Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford.

Vittese, a sophomore from Cherry Hill, N.J., earned her second-consecutive first-team All-ACC honor. Last year’s ACC Freshman of the Year and 2014 Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-American leads this year’s UVA squad in points (35) and goals (13) as well as being tied with Hyams in assists (9). Vittese was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Week on Sept. 1 after scoring two goals and adding two assists in the opening weekend, including scoring the game-tying goal against Penn State. She also scored both goals in last week’s win at No. 17 James Madison.

Hyams, a junior from Whitstable, England, has scored eight goals with nine assists this season, ranking second with 25 points. Hyams earned her first-ever ACC Player of the Week honor on Sept. 22 this season after having a hand in the scoring of three of Virginia’s four goals in the win over Duke. Hyams was an All-ACC Second Team honoree her freshman season, also garnering the 2013 ACC Freshman of the Year award and is a two-time All-South Region Second Team member.

A vote by the league’s seven head coaches determines the accolade.

All seven of the league’s teams are represented on the All-ACC squads, led by seven student-athletes from top-ranked Syracuse. Duke and North Carolina had four players recognized, while two players apiece from Boston College, Louisville, Virginia and Wake Forest garnered league accolades. Syracuse, which finished the regular season with a perfect 16-0 record and is ranked No. 1 in the country, claimed all four individual ACC Field Hockey awards to lead the 2015 All-ACC Team.

The 2015 ACC Field Hockey Championship gets underway Nov. 5 in Charlottesville. Thursday’s quarterfinals are scheduled for 11 a.m., 1:30 p.m., and 4 p.m., and the semifinals will be at 1 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. on Friday. The championship will be held Sunday at 1 p.m.

Offensive Player of the Year — Alma Fenne, Syracuse
Defensive Player of the Year — Alyssa Manley, Syracuse
Freshman of the Year — Roos Weers, Syracuse
Coach of the Year — Ange Bradley, Syracuse

2015 All-ACC Field Hockey Teams

First Team
Aileen Johnson, Sr., M, Duke #
Lauren Blazing, Sr., GK, Duke #
Nina Notman, Sr., M, North Carolina #
Emily Wold, Sr., M, North Carolina %
Julia Young, Jr., D, North Carolina
Alyssa Manley, Sr., M, Syracuse #
Alma Fenne, Gr., M, Syracuse
Roos Weers, Fr., D, Syracuse
Tara Vittese, So., M, Virginia @
Lucy Hyams, Jr., F, Virginia @
Jessica Newak, Sr., F, Wake Forest

Second Team
Emily McCoy, Jr., M, Boston College
Romee Stiekema, Sr., M, Boston College @
Amanda Kim, Sr., D, Duke
Hannah Barreca, Sr., D, Duke
Elisa Garcia, Sr., D, Louisville
Nicole Woods, So., F, Louisville
Casey Di Nardo, Sr., F, North Carolina
Emma Russell, Sr., F, Syracuse #
Laura Hurff, So., M, Syracuse
Jess Jecko, Sr., GK, Syracuse
Jule Grashoff, Fr., F, Wake Forest

@ Two-time honoree, # Three-time honoree, % Four-time honoree

Print Friendly Version