Story Links

March 18, 2016

Championship Brackets | NCAA Wrestling Home

NEW YORK – Redshirt junior George DiCamillo (Highland Heights, Ohio) is through to the round of 12 at the NCAA Championships and will wrestle again tonight at 8 p.m. in the fourth session of the weekend event.

The consolation matches will be broadcast on a mat-by-mat basis on

DiCamillo, the six seed at 133 pounds, will face Jade Rauser of Utah Valley with the winner locking up All-America status. It will be the first All-America honor for the winning wrestler. DiCamillo is a three-time qualifier for Virginia, while Rauser is a four-time qualifier for the Wolverines.

DiCamillo dropped his quarterfinal match after an early near fall in the first period put him in a hole against third-seeded Zane Richards of Illinois. The redshirt junior dropped the 12-4 major decision to Richards and moved to the wrestlebacks.

Zach Nye (Enola, Pa.), the 14 seed at 197 pounds, missed out on the round of 12 when he dropped his consolation match to sixth-seeded Jared Haught of Virginia Tech. Nye fell 2-1 to Haught as an escape point and riding time gave the Hokie the decision.

Nye picked up an 8-2 decision over Owen Scott of Cornell in his first match of the day, asserting himself in the second and third period after wrestling a scoreless first. The decision over Scott advanced him to the consolation third-round match against Haught.

125: Nick Herrmann – Eliminated
1st Round: No. 15 seed David Terao (American) dec. Herrmann (UVA), 8-6
Conso Rd. 1: Alfredo Rodriguez (SIU-Edwardsville) dec. Herrmann (UVA), 4-3

133: No. 6 Seed George DiCamillo
1st Round: DiCamillo (UVA) dec. Dalton Brady (Az State), 8-4
2nd Round: DiCamillo (UVA) dec. No. 11 seed Dom Forys (Pitt), 4-3
Quarterfinals: No. 3 seed Zane Richards (Illinois) major dec. DiCamillo (UVA), 12-4
Conso. Rd. 4: DiCamillo (UVA) vs. Jade Rauser (Utah Valley) – 8 p.m.

157: Andrew Atkinson – Eliminated
1st Round: No. 9 seed Richie Lewis (Rutgers) dec. Atkinson (UVA), 7-3
Conso. Pigtail: Spartak Chino (Ohio) dec. Atkinson (UVA), 2-1

197: No. 14 seed Zach Nye – Eliminated
1st Round: Nye (UVA) dec. Anthony Abro (Eastern Michigan), 6-3
2nd Round: No. 3 seed Brett Pfarr (Minnesota) major dec. Nye (UVA), 15-1
Conso. Rd 2: Nye (UVA) dec. Owen Scott (Cornell), 8-2
Conso. Rd. 3: No. 6 seed Jared Haught (VT) dec. Nye (UVA), 2-1

285: Patrick Gillen – Eliminated
1st Round: No. 5 seed Adam Coon (Michigan) fall Gillen (UVA), 4:22
Conso. Rd. 1: No. 12 seed Billy Smith (Rutgers) dec. Gillen (UVA), 9-4

Print Friendly Version