Story Links

March 31, 2016

ACC Release | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

GREENSBORO, N.C.-Virginia head swimming and diving coach Augie Busch has been named ACC Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year, the conference announced Thursday (March 31).

It is the third-consecutive season Busch has earned the honor. In his third year at UVA, Busch led the Cavaliers to their ninth-consecutive ACC Championship and a second-consecutive fifth-place finish at the NCAA Championships. The fifth-place finishes at the national meet are program-best marks.

At the NCAA meet, junior Leah Smith (Pittsburgh, Pa.) successfully defended her 500- and 1,650-yard freestyle titles, while senior Courtney Bartholomew (Holland, Mich.) was the NCAA runner-up in the 100- and 200-yard backstroke. The Cavaliers finished in the top eight in four separate relays for the first time in school history.

The Cavaliers won 10 events at the ACC Championships en route to the team title, including the 800-yard freestyle relay and the 400-yard medley relay. Bartholomew won the 100 and 200 back and the 200-yard individual medley, while Smith captured the 500 and 1,650 free. Junior Kaitlyn Jones (Newark, Del.) touched first in the 400 IM and 200-yard butterfly, while fellow junior Laura Simon (Simmern, Germany) was victorious in the 200-yard breaststroke.

Print Friendly Version