Story Links

April 25, 2016

Stanford, Calif. – The No. 14 Virginia women’s golf team is a No. 4 seed in the NCAA Regional site that will be held at the Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif.

The 54-hole regional championship takes place May 5-7. It marks the 12th straight year Virginia has received a bid to the NCAA Championships. The Cavaliers earned the Atlantic Coast Conference’s automatic berth into the field after winning the league title for the second consecutive season.

Virginia will be looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the ninth time in the program’s 13-year history.

“We’ve been very fortunate when going out west and we’ve had success out there,” said Virginia coach Kim Lewellen. “We know the golf course and have played a regional there before. Our assistant coach, Calle Nielson, won that regional. I think we’ll be well prepared for the course. The team is excited for where they will play their regional championship.”

Last year the Cavaliers qualified for the NCAA Championships by finishing fifth at the regional in St. George, Utah. Nielson won the 2010 NCAA regional at Stanford when UVA placed fifth.

The top six schools from each of four 18-team regional sites will advance to the NCAA Championships along with the top three individuals not advancing from a team from each site. The NCAA Championships are scheduled for May 20-25 at the Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore.

Virginia is one of 10 ACC teams to receive an invitation to this year’s national championship. Also qualifying were Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Louisville, Miami, NC State, North Carolina and Notre Dame and Wake Forest. The 10 selections are the most ever for the ACC.

Shoal Creek RegionalThe Shoal Creek Regional will be played at Shoal Creek Club in Shoal Creek, Ala. Alabama will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools:
 1. Alabama, 2. Northwestern, 3. Oklahoma State, 4. California, 5. Iowa State, 6. Florida State, 7. Tennessee, 8. Missouri, 9. Purdue, 10. Notre Dame, 11. Vanderbilt, 12. Clemson, 13. Michigan, 14. Middle Tennessee State, 15. New Mexico State, 16. Eastern Kentucky, 17. Oakland, 18. Alabama State

Bryan RegionalThe Bryan Regional will be played at Traditions Club in Bryan, Texas. Texas A&M will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools:
 1. UCLA, 2. Georgia, 3. Arizona, 4. Kent State, 5. Furman, 6. Texas A&M, 7. TCU, 8. Texas, 9. SMU, 10. Louisville, 11. Miami (FL), 12. Tulane, 13. Campbell, 14. Indiana, 15. Texas State, 16. Delaware, 17. Lamar, 18. Quinnipiac

Baton Rouge RegionalThe Baton Rouge Regional will be played at University Club in Baton Rouge, La. LSU will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. Duke, 2. Florida, 3. Arizona State, 4. Washington, 5. Oregon, 6. South Carolina, 7. East Carolina, 8. NC State, 9. Houston, 10. BYU, 11. Augusta, 12. LSU, 13. New Mexico, 14. Denver, 15. Harvard, 16. North Florida, 17. Wichita State, 18. Fairleigh Dickinson

Stanford RegionalThe Stanford Regional will be played at Stanford Golf Course. Stanford will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools:
 1. USC, 2. Arkansas, 3. Stanford, 4. Virginia, 5. UNLV, 6. San Diego State, 7. Texas Tech, 8. Ohio State, 9. Colorado, 10. Wake Forest, 11. Michigan State, 12. North Carolina, 13. Pepperdine, 14. San Jose State, 15. UC-Riverside, 16. Idaho, 17. Richmond, 18. Seton Hall

Following the regional tournaments, the NCAA Championships will feature the format it adopted last year. All 24 teams and 12 individuals will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, the top 15 teams along with the top nine individuals not on an advancing team will advance for one additional day of stroke play to determine the top eight teams for match play competition and the 72-hole stroke play individual champion.

The top eight teams after 72 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the No. 1 seed playing the No. 8 seed, the No. 2 seed playing the No. 7 seed, the No. 3 seed playing the No. 6 seed and the No. 4 seed playing the No. 5 seed in match play. Ties for the top 15 and top eight teams as well as the top nine individuals will be broken by a sudden-death playoff or, if necessary, by the non sudden-death tiebreaking procedure.

Print Friendly Version