Story Links

April 26, 2016

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Five members of the Virginia wrestling program have been recognized for achievements in the classroom with the announcement of the All-ACC Academic team by the league office on Tuesday (April 26).

Redshirt sophomore Andrew Atkinson (Lynchburg, Va.), redshirt senior Patrick Gillen (Shelton, Conn.), redshirt senior Zach Nye (Enola, Pa.), redshirt freshman Garrett Peppelman (Harrisburg, Pa.) and senior Chris Yankowich (Norristown, Pa.) were all named to the team, giving Virginia the most selections of any ACC team this season.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a minimum 3.00 GPA for the previous semester and maintained a minimum 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

Print Friendly Version