Story Links

May 15, 2016

Virginia at NCAA Regional
Dates May 16-18
Location Franklin, Tenn. | Vanderbilt Legends Club
Team Stats 2015-16 UVa Stats
Live Scoring Tournament Live Stats
Additional Information Twitter | Facebook | Golfstat Rankings
Tournament Central Information

Charlottesville, Va. – The No. 26 Virginia men’s golf team opens play at the NCAA Regional in Franklin, Tenn., on Monday, May 16. The 54-hole event runs through Wednesday at the par-72, 7,190-yard Vanderbilt Legends Club. Virginia is the No. 5 seed in the 13-team field. The top five finishers from six NCAA regional sites advance to the NCAA Championships set for May 27-June 1 at The Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore.

The regional berth marks the 20th time since 1990 the Cavaliers have competed in postseason play. Virginia is looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the 15th time in its history. Last year the Cavaliers were fifth at a regional site in San Diego, Calif., and went on to finish 18th at the NCAA Championships.

The Virginia lineup features juniors Derek Bard (New Hartford, N.Y.) and Jimmy Stanger (Tampa, Fla.), sophomore Danny Walker (Bradenton, Fla.) and freshmen Ashton Poole (Charlotte, N.C.) and Thomas Walsh (High Point, N.C.).

Bard and Stanger, who were named to the All-ACC team earlier this week, lead the Cavaliers in stroke average. Bard is first on the team at 71.25 while Stanger is second at 71.97. They have combined to be UVa’s top finisher in seven of 11 tournaments this season.

The Cavaliers are paired with No. 4 seed Washington and No. 6 seed Houston during the opening round. Those teams start play Thursday at 8:20 a.m. from the 10th tee.

The field for the regional includes (listed by seed): 1. Texas. 2. Vanderbilt, 3. LSU, 4. Washington, 5. Virginia, 6. Houston, 7. Pepperdine, 8. Kennesaw State, 9. Michigan, 10. Troy, 11. East Carolina, 12. UT Martin and 13. Georgetown.

Virginia is one of nine ACC schools participating in this year’s championship. The other ACC participants are: Florida State (Kohler, Wisc.) North Carolina (Marana, Ariz.), Wake Forest (Marana, Ariz.), Clemson (Stillwater, Okla.), Georgia Tech (Marana, Ariz.) Louisville (Stillwater, Okla.), Duke (Stillwater, Okla.), NC State (Albuquerque, N.M.).

Print Friendly Version