Story Links

June 22, 2016

ACC Women’s Release | ACC Men’s Release | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

GREENSBORO, N.C.-Virginia rising senior Cleo Boyd has been named the ACC Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the conference announced Wednesday (June 22). In addition, eight Cavaliers were named to the All-ACC Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Academic Teams.

Boyd, a history and American studies double major from Kingston, Ontario, is the first member of the Virginia track and field program to earn an ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor across the three seasons of competition, including cross country, indoor track and field and outdoor track and field.

Boyd, graduate students Iona Lake (Norwich, England) and Aisha Naibe-Wey (London, England), graduated senior Peyton Chaney (Belleville, Ill.) and rising senior Christine Bohan (Avon Lake, Ohio) of the UVA women’s team were honored on the All-ACC Academic squad, while graduate Christian Lavorgna (Jefferson, N.J.), rising senior Filip Mihaljevic (Livno, Bosnia and Herzegovina) and rising redshirt-junior Aaron Worrell (Fort Eustis, Va.) were recognized on the men’s team.

Boyd placed ninth in the 10,000 meters at the NCAA Championships, earning second-team All-America honors. She became the first Virginia runner to win both the 5,000m and 10,000m at the ACC Championships and the first conference runner to accomplish the feat since 2010.

Across the indoor and outdoor track and field and cross country seasons, Lavorgna has now been named to an All-ACC Academic team six times, while this was the fifth honor for Chaney and Mihaljevic. It was Lake’s fourth nod, Bohan and Boyd’s third and Worrell’s second. It was Naibe-Wey’s first recognition.

All eight Cavaliers earned All-ACC honors during the outdoor season. Mihaljevic won the NCAA title in the shot put and placed fifth in the discus, earning All-America honors. In addition to Boyd’s two ACC titles, Mihaljevic won the shot put and discus at the conference meet and was named the ACC Championships’ Men’s Field MVP.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Acadmemic Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

Print Friendly Version