January 23, 2017

WASHINGTON – The Tewaaraton Foundation announced the 2017 Tewaaraton Legends and Spirit honorees on Monday (Jan. 23). The 11th Spirit of Tewaaraton recipient is Mario St. George Boiardi, and the 2017 Tewaaraton Legends are former Virginia star Cherie Greer Brown and former Army star Peter Cramblet.

The Tewaaraton Legends Award annually honors recipients who played college lacrosse prior to 2001, the first year in which the Tewaaraton Award was presented. Recipients are chosen on the basis that their collegiate performance would have earned them a Tewaaraton Trophy, had the award existed when they played. The previous five Legends Award winners are Syracuse’s Jim Brown (2011), Cornell’s Eamon McEneaney (2012), Johns Hopkins’ Joe Cowan (2013), Navy’s Jimmy Lewis (2014), Syracuse’s Brad Kotz (2015), Maryland’s Frank Urso (2016) and Penn State’s Candace Finn Rocha (2016).

The recipient of the 2017 Tewaaraton Women’s Legend Award presented by the IWLCA, Cherie Greer Brown was a three-time first-team All-American and the 1994 NCAA Division I Defensive Player of the Year at Virginia. A four-time member of the U.S. Women’s Team, Greer Brown was inducted into the U.S. Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 2009, and in 2000 was named to Lacrosse Magazine‘s All-Century Team.

“Cherie Greer was simply the most outstanding lacrosse player to ever wear a Virginia uniform and the top collegiate and U.S. player of her time,” said Jane Miller, Greer’s coach at Virginia and current senior associate director of athletics at UVA. “She played with grace, style, speed and skill. In her final year, she led the country in scoring while being named the ‘Defensive Player of the Year,’ a very unique accomplishment. Cherie always put the team first. She never took credit but she always shouldered the responsibility for the team’s success. You will not find a more humble superstar. Cherie Greer was a treasure we were fortunate to have at the University of Virginia for four years. She was a coach’s dream, a teammate’s dream, and now a very deserving legend.”

All three recipients will receive their awards at the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony presented by Under Armour, June 1, 2017, in Washington, D.C. The Tewaaraton Foundation will unveil the 2017 Tewaaraton Award Watch List live at a special fundraising reception in New York City on Feb. 28. Information can be found at https://www.501auctions.com/tewaaraton.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Legends Award or to attend these exciting events, visit tewaaraton.com. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at facebook.com/tewaaraton, twitter.com/tewaaraton and instagram.com/tewaaraton.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit www.tewaaraton.com.