May 23, 2017

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Former Virginia women’s lacrosse All-American Robyn Nye Wood has been selected by the US Lacrosse Board of Directors as a member of the 2017 induction class into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. Wood will be inducted in a ceremony on Saturday, Sept. 23, at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

Nye became a two-time first team collegiate All-American at Virginia. As co-captain in 1991, she led the Cavaliers to the NCAA national championship and was named the IWLCA’s Defensive Player of the Year. She was also selected to the NCAA’s All-Tournament Team in 1991, and chosen as UVA’s most valuable athlete. Wood was named to the ACC’s 50th Anniversary Team in 2002 and had her number retired at UVA in 2012.

After college, she was a club participant in the Philadelphia Women’s Lacrosse Association for 10 seasons and also a member of the U.S. Women’s National Team Program from 1991 to 1997. Nye played on the 1997 U.S. World Cup Team that captured gold in Japan, and also played on U.S. Touring Teams to Australia in 1992 and Wales in 1995. She has previously been inducted to the Downingtown Area High School Hall of Fame and the US Lacrosse Charlottesville Chapter’s Hall of Fame.

Robyn Nye Wood joins fellow UVA alum and All-American Doug Knight, Leslie Blankin Lane, Jim McDonald, Laurette Payette, Casey Powell, Jill Johnson Redfern, Brooks Sweet and Don Zimmerman as the 2017 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Class.

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. Over 400 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located alongside the National Lacrosse Museum at the US Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Maryland.

Other Virginia National Lacrosse Hall of Fame members include: Jay Conner, Heather Dow, John Driscoll, Tom Duquette, Peter Eldredge, Billy Hooper, Jay Jalbert, Roddy Marino, Jane Miller, Howdy Myers, Jim Potter, Bonnie Rosen, Doyle Smith, Dom Starsia, Michael Watson and Julie Williams. In addition, former UVA coaches Jim Adams, Buddy Beardmore, Gene Corrigan, Wilson Fewster and Bob Sandell have also been inducted into the Hall of Fame.