June 29, 2017

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia’s Allison Davis (Oak Hill, Va.) and Erika Osherow (Darien, Conn.) were included on the All-ACC Academic Softball team the conference office announced Thursday (June 29). The duo also represented the Cavaliers on the 2016 All-ACC Academic Team.

A student at UVA’s renowned, McIntire School of Commerce, Davis started all 54 games in 2017 for the Cavaliers. She was second on the team in batting average (.328), hits (58) and total bases (89). Earlier this month she earned her second-straight All-State honor from VaSID.

Osherow, a Kinesiology major, was the team’s top pitcher in 2017. Her 31 starts and 41 appearances were the fourth and fifth most in the ACC respectively. She credited with six of the team’s nine conference victories and finished the year with a team-best, 15 wins in the circle. She was named the ACC Pitcher of the Week on April 25 after going 3-0 with a 1.83 ERA in 24 innings pitched.

Since the award’s inception in 2006, the Cavaliers have placed multiple honorees in all but two years. Davis and Osherow become the first Cavalier teammates since Marcy Bowdren, and Taylor Williams in 2012 and 2013 to earn All-ACC Academic honors in back-to-back seasons.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career for undergraduate students. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2017 ACC Softball Scholar Athlete of the Year
Alex Powers, R-Sr., Florida State

2017 All-ACC Academic Softball Team
Taylor Coroneos, Sr., Boston College
Sydney Broderick, Sr., Florida State
Ellie Cooper, Sr., Florida State
Meghan King, R-So., Florida State
Morgan Klaevemann, Jr., Florida State
Dani Morgan, Fr., Florida State
Alex Powers, R-Sr., Florida State
Anna Shelnutt, Fr., Florida State
Emily Anderson, Jr., Georgia Tech
Jessica Kowalewicz, Sr., Georgia Tech
Caitlin Ferguson, Fr., Louisville
Jordan McNary, Sr., Louisville
Morgan Meyer, Sr., Louisville
Jade Caraway, Fr., NC State
Molly Martin, Sr., NC State
Kendra Lynch, Sr., North Carolina
Brittany Pickett, Fr., North Carolina
Katie Beriont, Jr., Notre Dame
Katie Marino, Fr., Notre Dame
Rachel Nasland, Sr., Notre Dame
Kimmy Sullivan, Sr., Notre Dame
Karley Wester, Sr., Notre Dame
Olivia Gray, So., Pitt
Kaitlin Manuel, Sr., Pitt
Samantha Fernandez, Jr., Syracuse
Allison Davis, Jr., Virginia
Erika Osherow, So., Virginia
Breanna Davenport, Jr., Virginia Tech
Carrie Eberle, Fr., Virginia Tech
Vanessa Gonzalez, Sr., Virginia Tech