Hoos A Champion

Congratulations to former #UVAWSoc defender Emily Sonnett who helped lead Portland FC to the 2017 NWSL Championship over the weekend. With the win, a Cavalier has been on the roster for every NWSL Championship team in the league’s five years of play. Sinead Farrelly played for the Portland Thorns in the inaugural season when Portland won the 2013 title. Becky Sauerbrunn plays for FC Kansas City who won the 2014 and 2015 championships. Former ACC Offensive Player of the Year Makenzy Doniak played for the Western NY Flash in 2016. Doniak and Sonnett faced each other in the 2017 title match with the Thorns beating the NC Courage who moved to NC from Western NY.