April 19, 2018

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Andrew Atkinson (Lynchburg, Va.) and Louie Hayes (Orland Park, Ill.) have been named to the 2018 ACC wrestling All-Academic team, the league office announced on Thursday with the release of its annual team.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a minimum 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a minimum 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career. Athletic achievements for the most current season are also strongly considered for selection to the All-ACC academic team.

Atkinson is a graduate student completing a master of education in Kinesiology, while Hayes is working on a bachelor’s degree in Media Studies.

A redshirt senior, Atkinson advanced to the NCAA Championships for the fourth time in his Virginia career, becoming only the 10th four-time NCAA qualifier in program history. He turned in a 19-9 record on the season, including a 4-1 mark in ACC dual competition and a third-place finish at 165 pounds at the ACC Championships. It is Atkinson’s third selection to the All-Academic team.

A redshirt freshman, Hayes posted a 31-8 record on the year as he advanced to the quarterfinals in his first appearance at the NCAA Championships, finishing one round shy of All-America honors as he was eliminated in the Round of 12. He went undefeated in ACC dual competition with a 5-0 record and led the league in dual points scored. Hayes finished as runner-up at 125 pounds at the ACC Championships.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2018 ACC All-Academic Wrestling Team
**Thayer Atkins Duke
***Andrew Atkinson Virginia
L.J. Bentley Pitt
Daniel Bullard NC State
Sean Fausz NC State
Josh Finesilver Duke
Matt Finesilver Duke
***Dom Forys Pitt
**Brian Hamann NC State
****Jared Haught Virginia Tech
Louie Hayes Virginia
Hayden Hidlay NC State
****Jacob Kasper Duke
Michael Macchiavello NC State
Ethan Ramos North Carolina
Alec Schenk Duke
Zack Sherman North Carolina
Jake Wetzel Pitt
***Nick Zanetta Pitt
***Zack Zavatsky Virginia Tech

** – Two-time honoree
*** – Three-time honoree
**** -Four-time honoree

ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Michael Macchiavello, NC State