April 25, 2018

Charlottesville, Va. – The No. 31 Virginia women’s golf team is the No. 8 seed in the NCAA Regional site that will be held at the University Ridge Golf Course in Madison, Wisc.

The field at the site includes ACC Champion and No. 1 seed Duke along with (in seed order) USC, Arizona State, Northwestern, Illinois, Purdue, Iowa State, Virginia, Wisconsin, Campbell, Ohio State, Notre Dame, Old Dominion, Oregon State, Idaho, Murray State, North Dakota State and IUPUI.

The 54-hole regional championship takes place May 7-9. It marks the 13th time Virginia has received a bid to the NCAA Championships and also the team’s return to the tournament after failing to qualify in 2017.

Virginia will be looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the ninth time in the program’s 15-year history.

“We’re back in the show,” said UVA head coach Kim Lewellen. “I’m so proud of this team and how they battled all season. We made it a goal to return to the NCAA Championships, so this is the first step. We have a lot of positive momentum coming off the ACC Championships and the team is excited to compete in Madison. It’s a new regional site for us and there is a very strong field at the site so it will be a challenge, but one we are looking forward to.”

The top six schools from each of four 18-team regional sites will advance to the NCAA Championships along with the top three individuals not advancing from a team from each site. The NCAA Championships are scheduled for May 18-23 at the Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Okla.

Virginia is one of 11 ACC teams to receive an invitation to this year’s national championship. Also qualifying were Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Louisville, Miami, NC State, North Carolina and Notre Dame, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest.

Stanford Regional
The Stanford Regional will be played at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, Calif. Stanford will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. UCLA, 2. Stanford, 3. South Carolina, 4. Kent State, 5. Oklahoma State, 6. North Carolina, 7. Colorado, 8. Louisville, 9. NC State, 10. Mississippi, 11. California, 12. San Diego State, 13. Pepperdine, 14. Oregon, 15. Long Beach State, 16. Grand Canyon, 17. Princeton, 18. Fairleigh Dickinson.

Austin Regional
The Austin Regional will be played at the UT Golf Club in Austin, Texas. Texas will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. Arkansas, 2. Texas, 3. Michigan State, 4. Florida, 5. Auburn, 6. Oklahoma, 7. Houston, 8. Miami (Fla.), 9. Baylor, 10. Texas A&M, 11. BYU, 12. East Carolina, 13. Texas Tech, 14. Virginia Tech, 15. UT-San Antonio, 16. Georgetown, 17. Houston Baptist, 18. Missouri State.

Madison Regional
The Madison Regional will be played at University Ridge Golf Course in Madison, Wisc. Wisconsin will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. Duke, 2. USC, 3. Arizona State, 4. Northwestern, 5. Illinois, 6. Purdue, 7. Iowa State, 8. Virginia, 9. Wisconsin, 10. Campbell, 11. Ohio State, 12. Notre Dame, 13. Old Dominion, 14. Oregon State, 15. Idaho, 16. Murray State, 17. North Dakota State and 18. IUPUI.

Tallahassee Regional
The Tallahassee Regional will be played at Southwood Golf Course in Tallahassee, Fla.. Florida State will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. Alabama, 2. Furman, 3. Arizona, 4. Washington, 5. Wake Forest, 6. Vanderbilt, 7. Florida State, 8. Clemson, 9. Georgia, 10. Tennessee, 11. UNLV, 12. Kennesaw State, 13. Denver, 14. Coastal Carolina, 15. Missouri, 16. College of Charleston, 17. Richmond, 18. Albany.

Following the regional tournaments, the NCAA Championships will feature the format it adopted in 2015. All 24 teams and 12 individuals will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, the top 15 teams along with the top nine individuals not on an advancing team will advance for one additional day of stroke play to determine the top eight teams for match play competition and the 72-hole stroke play individual champion.

The top eight teams after 72 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the No. 1 seed playing the No. 8 seed, the No. 2 seed playing the No. 7 seed, the No. 3 seed playing the No. 6 seed and the No. 4 seed playing the No. 5 seed in match play. Ties for the top 15 and top eight teams as well as the top nine individuals will be broken by a sudden-death playoff or, if necessary, by the non sudden-death tiebreaking procedure.