April 26, 2018

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia women’s lacrosse senior Kasey Behr (Northport, N.Y.) has been named one of 25 nominees for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 10 and invited to the 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., on May 31. Behr was one of 66 players on the watch list, making the initial list released in March.

Behr was named first team All-Atlantic Coast Conference at the end of the regular season. She is second on the team with 46 goals, while also adding 58 draw controls, 31 ground balls and 23 caused turnovers.

The midfielder has scored multiple goals in 14 contests with 10 hat tricks. She ranks 10th in the ACC in goals per game (2.71), seventh in caused turnovers per game (1.35) and 10th in draw controls per game (3.41). Behr has moved into seventh all-time at UVA with 143 career goals and is fifth with 144 career draw controls.

Virginia begins play in the 2018 ACC Championship on Thursday, taking on 5-seed Notre Dame in the quarterfinals at 2 p.m. at Koskinen Stadium in Durham, N.C.

2018 Tewaaraton Award Women’s Nominees

Sam Apuzzo, Boston College – Jr., Attack
Dempsey Arsenault, Boston College – Jr., Midfield
Kasey Behr, Virginia – Sr., Midfield
Julia Braig, Maryland – Jr., Defense
Jenna Collins, Navy – Sr., Midfield
Olivia Conti, Towson – Soph., Defense
Shelby Frederick, Northwestern – Sr., Attack
Kristen Gaudian, James Madison – Sr., Attack
Haley Hicklen, Florida – Jr., Goalie
Darby Kiernan, Colorado – Sr., Attack
Selena Lasota, Northwestern – Jr., Attack
Julia Lisella, Colorado – Jr., Goalie
Marie McCool, North Carolina – Sr., Midfield
Elizabeth Miller, Boston College – Jr., Defense
Courtney Murphy, Stony Brook – Redshirt Senior, Attack
Kelsey Murray, Stanford – Redshirt Senior, Attack
Sheila Nesselbush, Northwestern – Sr., Midfield
Katie O’Donnell, Penn State – Sr., Midfield
Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook – Sr., Attack
Lindsey Ronbeck, Florida – Jr., Attack
Gabby Rosenzweig, Penn – Soph, Attack
Megan Taylor, Maryland – Jr., Goalie
Taylor VanThof, Loyola – Jr., Midfield
Haley Warden, James Madison – Sr., Midfield
Megan Whittle, Maryland – Sr., Attack