May 3, 2018

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Two members of the Virginia women’s tennis team earned All-ACC honors, with sophomore Rosie Johanson (Vancouver, British Columbia) named to the first team and junior Meghan Kelley (Falmouth, Maine) named to the third team as announced by the conference office on Thursday (May 3).

Johanson earned a spot on the All-ACC team for the second straight season after being named a second team selection as a freshman. She is ranked No. 32 in the latest Oracle/ITA singles rankings for her highest singles ranking of her career. Johanson holds a 22-12 record on the season and went 12-7 in dual matches, with an 8-6 mark in ACC play. She has posted nine wins over nationally-ranked players this season, including a win over ninth-ranked Estela Perez-Somarriba of Miami to help the Cavaliers to an upset win over the Hurricanes. It is the only loss of the season in dual play for Perez-Somarriba, who was named the ACC Player of the Year. Johanson was selected to compete in the NCAA Women’s Singles Championships later this month when the tournament field was announced on Wednesday.

Kelley earns All-ACC honors for the first time in her career after posting a 22-8 mark on the year with a 17-5 record in dual matches. She was 11-3 in ACC play with a 13-3 mark at the third spot in the lineup. She posted four wins over nationally-ranked players this season. Kelley will play in the NCAA Women’s Doubles Championship later this month with Johanson. The duo is currently the No. 16 ranked doubles team in the nation.

2018 All-ACC Women’s Tennis Awards
Player of the Year
Estela Perez-Somarriba, SO, Miami

Freshman of the Year
Kelly Chen, Duke

Coach of the Year
Jamie Ashworth, Duke

2018 All-ACC Women’s Tennis Teams
First Team
Marie-Alexandre Leduc**, JR, Clemson
Samantha Harris****, SR, Duke
Carla Touly, SO, Florida State
Paige Hourigan****, SR, Georgia Tech
Estela Perez-Somarriba**, SO, Miami
Makenna Jones, SO, North Carolina
Gabriela Knutson, JR, Syracuse
Rosie Johanson**, SO, Virginia
Emma Davis, JR, Wake Forest

Second Team
Kelly Chen, FR, Duke
Meible Chi**, SO, Duke
Petra Hule, FR, Florida State
Kenya Jones, SO, Georgia Tech
Sinead Lohan****, SR, Miami
Sara Daavettila**, SO, North Carolina
Alexa Graham**, SO, North Carolina
Alle Sanford, FR, North Carolina
Natalie Novotna**, SO, Virginia Tech

Third Team
Asiya Dair****, Boston College
Fernanda Navarro, JR, Clemson
Kaitlyn McCarthy**, JR, Duke
Ellyse Hamlin**, JR, Duke
Johnnise Renaud****, SR, Georgia Tech
Anna Rogers**, SO, NC State
Adriana Reami, SO, NC State
Allison Miller, SR, Notre Dame
Meghan Kelley, JR, Virginia

* – denotes number of All-ACC honors