May 6, 2018

2018 NCAA Bracket | Interactive Bracket | Tickets

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Virginia women’s lacrosse team (9-9) earned its 23rd consecutive NCAA Championship bid, securing an at-large selection in the 26-team Championship field. The Cavaliers will open play in the 2018 NCAA tournament by taking on Stanford (15-4) on Friday, May 11 at Sentara Park in Harrisonburg, Va.

“Sitting on the bubble, it was a relief to hear our name called,” head coach Julie Myers said. “I feel like we were worthy of getting this opportunity, so now we need to make sure that all of the work we have put in since our last game is going to get us going in the right direction. Stanford and JMU are both great teams. We will focus on playing Stanford on Friday. We are honored to be a part of this tournament, there are a lot of great teams and it is going to be a great battle for everyone.

UVA and Stanford are meeting for the first time in school history. Stanford enters the tournament after winning the PAC 12 Championship on April 29. The winner of Friday’s game will advance to play No. 3-seed James Madison in the second round on Sunday, May 13. Virginia and JMU met earlier this season in a game that was postponed due to inclement weather. The Cavaliers fell 15-10 on April 18 in Charlottesville.

Virginia has earned an NCAA bid in each of the 23 seasons under Myers. Last season, UVA defeated Elon 11-9 in the first round before falling to North Carolina 23-12 in the second round.

This will be Virginia’s 31st overall trip to the NCAA Championship, ranking third in the nation with 62 tournament games played. UVA owns a 35-27 record in NCAA tournament games.

Tickets for the first and second rounds will be $5 per day with general admission seating. Children two and under enter free. To purchase tickets, you can call the JMU ticket office at 540-568-3853 or email at Fans can also purchase tickets online through the link above.

Four quarterfinal games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals held at Kenneth P. Lavalle Stadium in Stony Brook, N.Y., May 25 and 27.