CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia had three players named to the 2019 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Teams, the league office announced on Tuesday (April 23).
Earning first team honors at midfield were senior Maggie Jackson (Alexandria, Va.) and junior Sammy Mueller (Pelham, N.Y.). Senior attacker Avery Shoemaker (Wyndmoor, Pa.) was named to the second team.
This is the second first team honor for Jackson. A 2017 All-American, Jackson currently leads the team with 64 points on 30 goals and 34 assists. Her 34 assists are a career-high for a single season. Jackson also leads with 85 draw controls. She had a season-high 10 draw controls in the win over Virginia Tech to set a new UVA school record with 292 career draw controls.
It is the second consecutive honor for Mueller, who also earned ACC Freshman of the Year in 2017. Mueller is tied for second on the team with 61 points on 40 goals and 21 assists. She leads the team and the ACC in ground balls per game (3.06). Mueller has scored multiple goals in 11 games with eight hat tricks this season. She also has 70 draws and 23 caused turnovers.
Shoemaker earned her second consecutive All-ACC honor. She is tied for second on the team with 61 points on a team-high 46 goals and 15 assists. Shoemaker has scored multiple goals in 12 games, including a career-high six in the win at George Mason. She is second in the ACC and 10th in the nation in free position percentage (.650).
Virginia will begin play in the 2019 ACC Tournament on Wednesday, April 24, facing No. 4 Syracuse at 2 p.m. at Alumni Stadium.

2019 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team
First Team
A – Sam Apuzzo, Sr., Boston College
A – Kenzie Kent, Gr., Boston College
A – Olivia Jenner, Sr., Duke
A – Jamie Ortega, So., North Carolina
A – Maddie Howe, So., Notre Dame
A – Emily Hawryschuk, Jr., Syracuse
M – Dempsey Arsenault, Sr., Boston College
M – Andie Aldave, So., Notre Dame
M – Sammy Mueller, Jr., Virginia
M – Maggie Jackson, Sr., Virginia
M – Paige Petty, So., Virginia Tech
D – Elizabeth Miller, Jr., Boston College
D – Emma Trenchard, So., North Carolina
D – Hannah Proctor, Sr., Notre Dame
GK – Taylor Moreno, R-So., North Carolina
GK – Samantha Giacolone, Sr., Notre Dame
Second Team
A – Charlotte North, So., Duke
A – Tessa Chad, Sr., Louisville
A – Katie Hoeg, Jr., North Carolina
A – Avery Shoemaker, Sr., Virginia
M – Gianna Bowe, Sr., North Carolina
M – Mary Rahal, R-Jr., Syracuse
M – Emma Crooks, So., Virginia Tech
D – Charlotte Sofield, So., North Carolina
D – Sarah Cooper, Fr., Syracuse
D – Kerry Defilese, R-So., Syracuse
D – Elena Ricci, So., Virginia Tech
GK – Abbey Ngai, So., Boston College