CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia women’s lacrosse junior midfielder Sammy Mueller (Pelham, N.Y.) has been named one of the 25 nominees for the 2019 Tewaaraton Award. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.
Mueller is a first-team All-ACC selection with 41 goals and 22 assists so far this season. Mueller leads UVA and the ACC in ground balls, averaging 3.06 per game. She also leads the team with 23 caused turnovers and is second with 74 draw controls. Mueller, a 2018 All-American, has scored multiple goals in 11 games with eight hat tricks. She has had multiple assists in five contests, including dishing out a career-high five in two games. Mueller matched a career-high with six goals in two games and had a career-best eight points in the win over Louisville.
This is the second consecutive year Virginia has had a midfielder be named a Tewaaraton nominee.
Virginia will wait for the NCAA Selection show on Sunday, May 5 at 9 p.m. The 2019 NCAA Championships begin on Friday, May 10.

2019 Tewaaraton Top 25
Andie Aldave, Notre Dame – Soph., Midfield
Samantha Apuzzo, Boston College – Sr., Attack
Dempsey Arsenault, Boston College – Sr., Midfield
Julia Braig, Maryland – Sr., Defense
Elizabeth George, Princeton – Sr., Attack
Samantha Giacolone, Notre Dame – Sr., Goalie
Jen Giles, Maryland – Sr., Midfield
Kali Hartshorn, Maryland – Jr., Attack
Emily Hawryschuk, Syracuse – Jr., Attack
Olivia Jenner, Duke – Sr., Attack
Ally Kennedy, Stony Brook – Jr., Midfield
Kenzie Kent, Boston College – Graduate, Attack
Kelly Larkin, Navy – Jr., Attack
Selena Lasota, Northwestern – Sr., Attack
Elizabeth Miller, Boston College – Sr., Defense
Taylor Moreno, North Carolina – Soph., Goalie
Sammy Mueller, Virginia – Jr., Midfield
Jamie Ortega, North Carolina – Soph., Attack
Lindsey Ronbeck, Florida – Sr., Attack
Gabby Rosenzweig, Pennsylvania – Jr., Attack
Livy Rosenzweig, Loyola – Soph., Attack
Caroline Sdanowich, James Madison – Sr., Defense
Mira Shane, Michigan – Sr., Goalie
Miranda Stinson, Colorado – Sr., Attack
Megan Taylor, Maryland – Sr., Goalie