ACC Release

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va.- Fourteen members of the Virginia men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams were named to the All-ACC Academic team as announced by the league office on Wednesday (May 1).

Both teams qualified seven student-athletes for the honor as seniors Eryn Eddy (Loveland, Colo.) and Kylie Towbin (New Canaan, Conn.),  juniors Sydney Dusel (Naperville, Ill.) and Morgan Hill (Olney, Md.), and sophomores Paige Madden (Mobile, Ala.), Anna Pang (London) and Emma Seiberlich (Audubon, Pa.) represented the women’s team on the list.

Redshirt senior Brendan Casey (Santa Monica, Calif.), juniors Ryan Baker (Arlington, Va.), Joe Clark (Worcester Park, Great Britain) and Ted Schubert (Ashland, Va.), and sophomores Keefer Barnum (Louisville, Ky.), Matthew Otto (Newark, Del.) and Cooper Wozencraft (Houston, Texas) were named from the men’s team.

Clark earned the academic nod for the third time in his career, while Barnum, Hill, Madden, Otto, Seiberlich and Towbin earned their second All-ACC Academic honor.

Hill led the Cavaliers during the season, finishing the year as a six-time 2019 All-American and three-time ACC champion. Madden followed with four All-America honors, while Eddy and Pang both earned two All-America accolades for the season. Seiberlich recorded honorable mention All-America honors in the 200-yard backstroke.

Additionally, Dusel and Towbin finished the year with All-ACC honors for their diving performance at the conference championships.

Casey led the Cavalier men, earning All-America honors in three events and tying as the top point scorer at the ACC Championships. Clark was named a four-time All-America honoree, as Baker finished the year as three-time All-America honoree and Barnum finished as a two-time honoree. Wozencraft and Schubert captured All-America honors in one event. Otto finished as an alternate at the NCAA Championships in the 200-yard breaststroke.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his or her academic career.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released at a later date.
2019 ACC Women’s Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Mallory Comerford, Sr., Louisville

2019 All-ACC Academic Women’s Swimming & Diving Team
Hunter Aitchison**, Sr., Duke
Maddie Hess, Sr., Duke
Mickayla Hinkle, Sr., Duke
Alyssa Marsh, Jr., Duke
Halle Morris, So., Duke
Melissa Pish, Fr., Duke
Maddi Pullinger, Fr., Duke
Mackenzie Willborn***, Sr., Duke
Molly Carlson***, Jr., Florida State
Ida Hulkko, Fr., Florida State
Nina Kucheran, Fr., Florida State
Mariia Astashkina**, So., Louisville
Avery Braunecker**, Jr., Louisville
Sophie Cattermole**, Sr., Louisville
Mallory Comerford****, Sr., Louisville
Casey Fanz**, Jr., Louisville
Molly Fears**, Jr., Louisville
Morgan Friesen**, So., Louisville
Alina Kendzior**, Sr., Louisville
Alena Kraus, Fr., Louisville
Grace Oglesby***, Jr., Louisville
Lainey Visscher**, Jr., Louisville
Kaylee Wheeler, Fr., Louisville
Alicia Blagg**, So., Miami
Brooke Bauer, Jr., North Carolina
Caroline Hauder**, So., North Carolina
Sophie Lindner, Fr., North Carolina
Kylee Alons, Fr., NC State
Olivia Calegan, So., NC State
Sophie Hansson, Fr., NC State
Anna Jahns**, Sr., NC State
Madeline Kline**, Jr., NC State
Kate Moore, So., NC State
Emma Muzzy, Fr., NC State
Ky-Lee Perry**, Jr., NC State
Julia Poole**, So., NC State
Sirena Rowe, Jr., NC State
Makayla Sargent, Jr., NC State
Abbie Dolan***, Jr., Notre Dame
Nicole Smith, Sr., Notre Dame
Alice Treuth, Sr., Notre Dame
Rachel Brown, Sr., Pitt
Sydney Dusel, Jr., Virginia
Eryn Eddy, Sr., Virginia
Morgan Hill**, Jr., Virginia
Paige Madden**, So., Virginia
Anna Pang, So., Virginia
Emma Seiberlich**, So., Virginia
Kylie Towbin**, Sr., Virginia
Ashlynn Peters***, Sr., Virginia Tech

2019 ACC Men’s Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Andreas Vazaios, Sr., NC State

2019 All-ACC Academic Men’s Swimming & Diving Team
Nathaniel Hernandez***, Jr., Duke
Judd Howard***, Sr., Duke
Evan Moretti***, Sr., Duke
Max St. George**, Sr., Duke
Griffin Alaniz**, Jr., Florida State
Izaak Bastain, Fr., Florida State
Joshua Davidson**, So., Florida State
Jakub Ksiazek, Fr., Florida State
Cameron Thatcher**, Jr., Florida State
Colt Williamson, Sr., Georgia Tech
Colton Paulson, Fr., Louisville
Nicolas Albiero**, So., Louisville
Andrej Barna***, Jr., Louisville
Mihalis Deliyiannis, So., Louisville
Daniel Fecteau***, Sr., Louisville
Zach Harting***, Sr., Louisville
Mate Kovacs, Sr., Louisville
Nikolaos Sofianidis**, So., Louisville
Daniel Sos, So., Louisville
Sterling Smith, Fr., North Carolina
James Bretscher***, Sr., NC State
Zach Brown, Fr., NC State
Danny Erlenmeyer**, Jr., NC State
Daniel Graber**, Sr., NC State
Noah Hensley, Sr., NC State
Eric Knowles**, So., NC State
Nyls Korstanje, Fr., NC State
Mark McGlaughlin, Jr., NC State
Jack McIntyre**, Jr., NC State
Jacob Molacek**, Sr., NC State
Justin Ress****, Sr., NC State
Andreas Vazaios**, Sr., NC State
Joshua Bottelberghe, Fr., Notre Dame
Austin Flaute, Fr., Notre Dame
Jack Montesi**, Jr., Notre Dame
Andrew Winton, Fr., Notre Dame
Samy Helmbacher, Jr., Pitt
Ryan Baker, Jr., Virginia
Keefer Barnum**, So., Virginia
Brendan Casey, R-Sr., Virginia
Joe Clark***, Jr., Virginia
Matthew Otto**, So., Virginia
Ted Schubert**, Jr., Virginia
Cooper Wozencraft, So., Virginia
Ian Ho***, Sr., Virginia Tech
Phillip Manoff, Fr., Virginia Tech
Ben Schiesl****, Sr., Virginia Tech
Norbert Szabo, Sr., Virginia Tech

* – Denotes number of All-ACC Academic selections

" "