Charlottesville, Va. – For the 12th consecutive year the Virginia men’s golf team has received a bid to the NCAA Regional Championships. The Cavaliers were awarded the number No. 8 seed among 13 teams at the regional championship site at Stanford.
A total of 81 teams are competing at six regional sites May 13-15 with the top five teams and top individual (not qualifying with a team) advancing to the NCAA Championships set for May 24-29 at Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark.
The regional berth marks the 23rd time since 1990 the Cavaliers have competed in postseason play. Virginia is looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the 17th time in its history. Last year, the Cavaliers finished seventh at a regional site in Norman, Okla., and failed to advance to the championship finals.
“The team is really excited to advance to regionals again for the 12th straight year in a row,” said UVA head coach Bowen Sargent. “This year was a little different because advancing was not a forgone conclusion. The guys fought hard down the stretch this spring to improve our ranking and surpass the .500 mark to become eligible. So, this year it was earned.
“The team played better each week of the spring and some of the young guys progressed nicely, playing some of the better events this season really well. It shows me that they respond well against better competition, certainly that showed in our last outing at the ACC Championship where we finished as the runner up to Georgia Tech. We look forward to another challenge of playing at NCAAs.”
The field for the Stanford regional includes (listed by seed): 1. Arizona State, 2. Stanford, 3. LSU, 4. NC State, 5. North Carolina, 6. South Florida, 7. Kansas, 8. Virginia, 9. Ole Miss, 10. Georgia Southern, 11. UNC Greensboro, 12. Augusta and 13. Denver.
Virginia is one of nine ACC schools participating in this year’s championship. The other ACC participants are: Clemson (Austin), Duke (Athens), Florida State (Myrtle Beach), Georgia Tech (Pullman), Louisville (Louisville), NC State (Stanford), North Carolina (Stanford), Wake Forest (Myrtle Beach).
The Cavaliers enter the postseason ranked No. 51 by Golfstat and No. 45 by Golfweek. Senior Thomas Walsh (High Point, N.C.), is UVA’s highest ranked player. He is No. 101 in the Golfstat poll and No. 60 in the Golfweek standings. He enters the postseason with a 70.67 stroke average.
NCAA Regional Sites and Field
Pullman Regional

The Pullman Regional will be played at Palouse Ridge Golf Club in Pullman, Wash.
1. Oklahoma, 2. Georgia Tech, 3. South Carolina, 4. Texas A&M, 5. UCLA, 6. BYU, 7. Colorado State, 8. Florida, 9. Michigan State, 10. Purdue, 11. Kent State, 12. Northern Colorado, 13. Wright State, 14. Iona.
Stanford Regional
The Stanford Regional will be played at Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif.
1. Arizona State, 2. Stanford, 3. LSU, 4. NC State, 5. North Carolina, 6. South Florida, 7. Kansas, 8. Virginia, 9. Ole Miss, 10. Georgia Southern, 11. UNC Greensboro, 12. Augusta, 13. Denver
Myrtle Beach Regional
The Myrtle Beach Regional will be played at TPC Myrtle Beach in Myrtle Beach, S.C.
1. Wake Forest, 2. California, 3. Texas Tech, 4. Illinois, 5. Florida State, 6. UNLV, 7. Oregon, 8. Ohio State, 9. Northwestern, 10. Oregon State, 11. Cal State Fullerton, 12. Middle Tennessee, 13. VCU, 14. Robert Morris
Athens Regional
The Athens Regional will be played at University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga.
1. Vanderbilt, 2. Duke, 3. Georgia, 4. Liberty, 5. Alabama, 6. Tennessee, 7. Campbell, 8. Kentucky, 9. Nevada, 10. SMU, 11. Memphis, 12. UNC Wilmington, 13. Princeton
Louisville Regional
The Louisville Regional will be played at University of Louisville Golf Club in Louisville, Ky.
1. Oklahoma State, 2. Auburn, 3. North Florida, 4. Louisville, 5. Baylor, 6. Arkansas State, 7. Iowa State, 8. West Virginia, 9. Arizona, 10. Mississippi State, 11. New Mexico, 12. Jacksonville State, 13. Southern Illinois
Austin Regional
The Austin Regional will be played at University of Texas Golf Club in Austin, Texas.
1. Texas, 2. USC, 3. Pepperdine, 4. Clemson, 5. TCU, 6. Arkansas, 7. Iowa, 8. Marquette, 9. San Jose State, 10. Saint Mary’s, 11. Sam Houston State, 12. UMKC, 13. Prairie View A&M, 14. Army