INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — No. 10 Virginia is one of 22 schools that will compete at the 2019 NCAA Rowing Championships, announced Tuesday (May 21). The national regatta will be held May 31-June 2 at the Indianapolis Rowing Center at Eagle Creek Park, with Indiana University and Indiana Sports Corporation serving as hosts.
UVA earned the Atlantic Coast Conference’s automatic bid after claiming its 10th consecutive league championship on May 18. The Cavaliers won four of five events at the ACC Championship, including the Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight, Third Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Four.
UVA’s Varsity Eight of coxswain Izzi Weiss (Chicago, Ill.), Reilly White (Wyckoff, N.J.), Heidi Long (Buckinghamshire, England), Anna Fairs (Thorpe Thewles, England), Emily Ashton (Albany, N.Y.), Jamey Bulloch (Johannesburg, South Africa), Sophia Kershner (Palmyra, Va.), Lizzie Trull (Wellesley, Mass.) and Carrie Warner (East London, South Africa) was named ACC Crew of the Year.
Sophie Pennoyer (Hartford, Conn.), Fairs, Long and Weiss were named to the All-ACC Rowing first team. Mackenzie King (Yardley, Pa.) was a second-team selection.
In addition to Virginia, Central Florida (American), Gonzaga (West Coast), Marist (MAAC), Michigan (Big Ten), Navy (Patriot), Northeastern (Colonial), Princeton (Ivy), Rhode Island (A-10), Texas (Big 12) and Washington (Pac-12) all earned its conferences’ automatic spots.
The 11 schools that earned at-large selections were Brown, California, Duke, Harvard, Indiana, Iowa, Ohio State, Rutgers, Stanford, Wisconsin and Yale.
The Cavaliers are seeded No. 12 in the Varsity Eight, No. 5 in the Second Varsity Eight and No. 11 in the Varsity Four.
Virginia placed fifth at last year’s national championship with 104 points. UVA’s Second Varsity Eight placed third, while the Varsity Eight and Varsity Four each placed seventh.
In their 21 NCAA Championship appearances in the last 22 years, the Cavaliers have finished in the top four 11 times (1997-2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2009-10, 2012, 2016) and have been runners-up three times (1999, 2005, 2007).
UVA captured NCAA team championships in 2010 and 2012. The Varsity Eight boat won the NCAA title in 2012, while the Second Varsity Eight won championships in 1998, 1999 and 2005. The Varsity Four claimed national championships in 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010 and 2015.