CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Former Virginia standout, Kara Ariza Cooke, has been named one of nine inductees as the Class of 2019 for the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, US Lacrosse announced on Wednesday (May 22).
The newest members will be officially inducted in a ceremony on Saturday, October 19, at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

Joining Ariza Cooke in the Class of 2019 are Ryan Boyle, Charlie Coker, Rachael Becker DeCecco, Sarah Forbes, Cathy Nelson Reese, Matt Striebel, Paul Schimoler and Richard Speckmann.

Ariza Cooke was a three-time All-American, earning first team honors as a defender in both 1997 and 1998, and second team status in 1996. She helped lead Virginia to the ACC title as a senior in 1998 and was named MVP of the ACC Championship that year. She earned All-ACC honors in both 1997 and 1998, and was selected to play in the North-South All-Star Game in 1998. In addition, Ariza Cooke was selected to the ACC’s 50th Anniversary Team in 2002. She was a member of the 2001 and 2005 U.S. World Cup Teams, winning the gold medal in 2001 and the silver in 2005. As a member of the U.S. Women’s National Team Program from 1997-2006, she also played on the U.S. Touring Team against Australia in 2000. She was inducted to the US Lacrosse Charlottesville Chapter Hall of Fame in 2015.

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. Over 400 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located alongside the National Lacrosse Museum at the US Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Maryland.


" "