CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia women’s lacrosse had three players named to the 2019 Inside Lacrosse Media All-America lists, the organization announced on Tuesday (May 29).
Junior Sammy Mueller (Pelham, N.Y.) was named to the second team, senior Maggie Jackson (Alexandria, Va.) was named to the third team and senior Avery Shoemaker (Wyndmoor, Pa.) earned honorable mention honors.
Mueller led Virginia with 72 points on 48 goals and a career-high 24 assists. She led the Cavaliers with 57 ground balls, leading the ACC in ground balls per game (2.85), and had a team-high 27 caused turnovers to rank seventh in the ACC. Mueller matched a career-high with six goals in three games. She scored a career-high eight points in the wins over Louisville and No. 14 Navy. Mueller finished with 80 draws to rank seventh all-time in a single season at UVA.
Jackson finished her UVA career as the all-time leader in draw controls with 301. She tallied 94 draws this season, ranking fourth in a single-season for the Cavaliers. The midfielder was second on the team with 71 points on 34 goals and 37 assists. Her 37 assists rank fourth all-time in a single season. Jackson scored multiple goals in 11 games with multiple assists in 10 contests, including a career-high five assists in the win over Virginia Tech on Senior Day.
Shoemaker led the Cavaliers with 52 goals this season, finishing with 68 points. Shoemaker scored multiple goals in 14 games with nine hat tricks. She had a career-high six goals in the win over George Mason and finished with a career-high seven points in the season-opening win over then-No. 13 Navy. Shoemaker was fourth in the ACC in free position percentage (.583). She was perfect on free positions in six games, including going 3-for-3 in two of those.
This is the third-annual survey of ILWomen contributors and members of lacrosse media who are tasked with choosing the 2019 season’s top 12 attackers, nine midfielders, 12 defenders, top three draw specialists, and top three goalies. Honorable mention selections are chosen based on players who received multiple votes, but did not accrue the totals of the first, second, or third honorees.

" "