CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia field hockey senior striker Erin Shanahan (Pasadena, Md.) has been named to the roster of the 2020 U.S. Women’s Development Team, as announced by USA Field Hockey. Additionally, former UVA goalkeeper Carrera Lucas has also been named to the team.
This is Lucas’ third year with the US Women’s Development Team and Shanahan’s second. Both traveled to the Netherlands last April with the team, competing against the Scotland Women’s National Team and Belgium’s U-21 Team. Lucas also traveled with the squad on a tour of Chile in 2018.
The U.S. Women’s National Development Team accounts for the transitional phase between the U-21 USWNT and the senior USWNT. Several of the trial attendees recently completed their final college season and are no longer permitted to be on the junior team due to age restrictions.

“The Development Team plays an important role in the Olympic Development Pathway with four of the newly named U.S. Women’s National Team athletes having represented the Development Team in 2019,” said Phil Edwards, USA Field Hockey’s Senior Manager of Coaching and Performance. “The team named today includes a nice mix of returning Development Team players and those from the 2019 U-21 [USWNT] team along with some new faces. We look forward to continuing to support them along their field hockey journey.”
The 23 athletes selected to the 2020 U.S. Women’s National Development Team were named following their performances at the USWNT Trial from January 6 to 8 at Spooky Nook Sports in Lancaster, Pa. This pool of athletes consisted of 2019 U.S. Women’s National Team members, athletes selected from the 2019 Young Women’s National Championship and players recommended by their respective collegiate coaches.

The team is currently scheduled for two training camps in the coming months. The first will be held February 28 to March 2 in Berkeley, Calif., and second is set from March 27 to 29 in Chapel Hill and Durham, N.C. The team will then tour Scotland in their first international competition of the year from April 16 to 22.