CSA Release

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Freshmen Aly Hussein (Cairo, Egypt) and Omar El Torkey (New Cairo, Egypt) and sophomore Emma Jinks (Stratford, Prince Edward Island) earned All-America honors, the College Squash Association (CSA) announced on Tuesday (March 24). Hussein was named a first-team honoree, while El Torkey and Jinks were selected for second-team honors.

It is the first time since the program became a varsity sport in 2017 that Virginia had a male or female earn All-America honors. All three Cavaliers were invited to compete in the top division at the CSA Individual Championships. Hussein and El Torkey were selected to compete in the Pool Trophy, the men’s A Division of the individual championships. Hussein placed in the top eight, suffering a loss in the quarterfinals, while El Torkey finished in the top 12 after advancing  to the consolation semifinals. Jinks was selected for the Ramsay Cup, the women’s A draw, where she placed in the top 16 of the tournament.

Hussein recorded an 18-2 overall record during the season, playing as the Cavaliers’ No. 1 for 11 matches. He suffered just one loss during the regular season, falling in position two against Harvard’s Saadeldin Abouaish. Hussein was the lone UVA player to go undefeated in the Potter Cup, the A division of the CSA Team Championships.

The Mid-Atlantic Squash Conference Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year, El Torkey led the Cavaliers during the conference tournament going undefeated at the top of the ladder. He concluded the season with a 17-4 record. Like Hussein, El Torkey suffered a single loss during the regular season, falling to the CSA individual champion and Harvard’s No. 1, Marwan Tarek.

Jinks led the women’s team throughout the season, competing in the No. 1 position for the Cavaliers. She posted a 12-11 overall record which included competing in two Ramesy Cup matches. Jinks helped Virginia win the Kurtz Cup, the B Division of CSA Team Championships, with wins at the top of the ladder against Middlebury and Dartmouth in the team tournament.

Placement on the All-American teams is primarily based on the final individual rankings of the season (following Individual Championships).

Women’s All-Americans:

First Team
Lucy Beecroft (Yale University)
Jessica Davis (University of Pennsylvania)
Zoe Foo Yuk Han (George Washington University)
Amelia Henley (Harvard University)
Georgina Kennedy (Harvard University)
Sarahi Lopez Dominguez (Trinity College)
Hana Moataz (Harvard University)
Habiba Mohamed (Columbia University)
Sivasangari Subramaniam (Cornell University)
Karina Tyma (Drexel University)

Second Team
Alina Bushma (Drexel University)
Hannah Craig (Harvard University)
Raneem El Torky (Princeton University)
Eleonore Evans (Harvard University)
Emma Jinks (University of Virginia)
Vanessa Raj (Trinity College)
Elle Ruggiero (Princeton University)
Akanksha Salunkhe (Trinity College)
Caroline Spahr (Princeton University)
Elena Wagenmans (Stanford University)

Men’s All-Americans:

First Team
Aly Abou El Einen (University of Pennsylvania)
Saadeldin Abouaish (Harvard University)
Miko Aijanen (Trinity College)
Veer Chotrani (Cornell University)
Victor Crouin (Harvard University)
Andrew Douglas (University of Pennsylvania)
James Flynn (University of Pennsylvania)
Aly Hussein (University of Virginia)
Youssef Ibrahim (Princeton University)
Spencer Lovejoy (Yale University)
Marwan Tarek (Harvard University)

Second Team
Yash Bhargava (University of Pennsylvania)
George Crowne (Harvard University)
Ashley Davies (University of Rochester)
Omar El Torkey (University of Virginia)
Aly Eltokhy (Trinity College)
Matias Knudsen (Drexel University)
Andrew Lee (Trinity College)
Nadav Raziel (Yale University)
Lucas Rousselet (Drexel University)
Samuel Scherl (Harvard University)
Matthew Toth (University of Rochester)
James Wyatt (Columbia University)