CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association (CSCAA) named 33 members of the Virginia men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams as 2019-20 Scholar All-Americans, the organization announced on Wednesday (July 8). 

The Cavalier women’s team had 21 members earn the academic honor as seniors Sydney Dusel (Naperville, Ill.) and Morgan Hill (Olney, Md.), juniors Caroline Gmelich (Rumson, N.J.), Paige Madden (Mobile, Ala.), Marcella Maguire (Ridgefield, Conn.), Jocelyn Porter (Cornelius, N.C.), Abby Richter (Henderson, Nev.), Emma Seiberlich (Audubon, Pa.) and Kyla Valls (Miami, Fla.), sophomores Julia Menkhaus (Charlotte, N.C.) and Jessica Nava (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), and freshmen Jennifer Bell (Pelham, N.Y.), Lexi Cuomo (Clifton, Va.), Maddie Donohoe (Annandale, Va.), Kate Douglass (Pelham, N.Y.) and Ella Nelson (Nashville, Tenn.) were named to the scholar All-America first-team. Senior Mary Claire Tansill (Bristow, Va.), juniors Erin Earley (Orange, Conn.) and Anna Pang (London), and freshmen Charlotte Bowen (Dana Point, Calif.) and Ella Collins (Austin, Texas) were named second-team selections.

Seniors Joe Clark (Worcester Park, Great Britain), Ted Schubert (Ashland, Va.) and Bryce Shelton (Vienna, Va.), juniors Samuel Schilling (Excelsior, Minn.) and Cooper Wozencraft (Houston, Texas), sophomore Justin Grender (Cincinnati, Ohio) and freshman Jack Wright (Wexford, Pa.) were named first-team All-America selections from the men’s team. Sophomore Jake Greenberg (Laguna Niguel, Calif.) and freshmen Sean Conway (Round Hill, Va.), Josh Fong (Moorestown, N.J.), Daniel Gyenis (Herndon, Va.) and August Lamb (Charlottesville, Va.) were named second-team honorees.

To be selected to the CSCAA Scholar All-America Team, swimmers and divers must have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and were invited to participate in their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. Second-team selections similarly achieved a GPA of 3.50 and achieved a “B” time standard or competed at their respective qualifying meets.

Men’s Team
Joe Clark
Justin Grender
Samuel Schilling
Ted Schubert
Bryce Shelton
Cooper Wozencraft
Jack Wright
Sean Conway (second-team)
Josh Fong (second-team)
Jake Greenberg (second-team)
Daniel Gyenis (second-team)
August Lamb (second-team)

Women’s Team 
Jennifer Bell
Lexi Cuomo
Maddie Donohoe
Kate Douglass
Sydney Dusel
Caroline Gmelich
Morgan Hill
Paige Madden
Marcella Maguire
Julia Menkhaus
Jessica Nava
Ella Nelson
Jocelyn Porter
Abby Richter
Emma Seiberlich
Kyla Valls
Charlotte Bowen (second-team)
Ella Collins (second-team)
Erin Earley (second-team)
Anna Pang (second-team)
Mary Claire Tansill (second-team)