GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced today (March 24) two Virginia senior student-athletes, swimmer Paige Madden (Mobile, Ala.) and field hockey player Rachel Robinson (Mount Joy, Pa.) are among 52 from league institutions selected as 2021 Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship Award recipients.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan postgraduate scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $6,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

Robinson, who has been a team captain since her sophomore season, is a member of the US Women’s National Field Hockey Team in addition to anchoring UVA’s defensive backline. Robinson was a first-team All-American and an All-ACC first-team honoree in 2019-20. The kinesiology major was the first Virginia field hockey player since 1998 to be named the ACC Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year when she did so last season.

Madden helped lead Virginia to its first NCAA Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship with three individual titles, the most by any swimmer. Madden was also a member of the NCAA champion 800-yard freestyle relay. She did not lose an individual race in the 2021 ACC or NCAA Championships. Madden finished her UVA career with 14 All-America honors, earning five at NCAAs, and was ACC Champion in 13 events. Madden improved her own UVA record in the 200-yard freestyle at the NCAA Championships and set a school record with the 800 free relay.

Additionally, Wake Forest tennis player Bar Botzer, who will be joining the UVA men’s tennis team when he enters the two-year program at the Darden School of Business next fall, has also earned the honor.

About the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award
The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver, Bob James, and Gene Corrigan, the first three ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.
Robert C. James, a former Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.
Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987 and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.
Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were awarded as separate honors, including the Jim Weaver Award, the Marie James Award and the Bob James Award.