GREENSBORO, N.C. – Five members of the Virginia field hockey team were named to the All-ACC Field Hockey Academic Team in honors announced Monday (June 14) by the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Senior Rachel Robinson (Mount Joy, Pa.), juniors Amber Ezechiels (Niew Vennep, Netherlands) and Annie McDonough (Kennett Square, Pa.), and sophomores Adele Iacobucci (Malvern, Pa.) and Laura Janssen (Nijmegen, Netherlands) were all voted onto the team.

This is the third time that Robinson and Ezechiels have earned the honor, the second for McDonough and a first for Iacobucci and Janssen.

Each of the ACC’s seven field hockey programs are represented on the 2020-21 All-ACC Field Hockey Academic Team, including a league-record 19 student-athletes that were voted to the All-ACC team announced in late April. In addition, 18 players earning All-ACC academic honors this season were also named All-Region by the NFHCA.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September of 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their careers, as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2020-21 All-ACC Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jonna Kennedy, Boston College

2020-21 All-ACC Field Hockey Academic Team

  • Sky Caron, Boston College, Jr.; Management & Leadership
  • Jonna Kennedy, Boston College, Jr.; Applied Psychology
  • Jaime Natale, Boston College, Sr.; Communication
  • Elizabeth Warner, Boston College; Sr.; Political Science
  • Darcy Bourne, Duke, Fr.; Undecided
  • Lexi Davidson, Duke, Sr.; Sociology
  • Caroline Hanan, Duke, Jr.; Neuroscience
  • Eva Nunnink, Duke, Gr.; Master of Management
  • Lily Posternak, Duke, Sr.; Sociology
  • Alli Bitting, Louisville; Sr.; Sports Administration
  • Emilia Kaczmarczyk, Louisville; So.; Sociology
  • Julie Kouizjer, Louisville, So.; Marketing
  • Mercedes Pastor, Louisville, Sr.; Industrial Engineering
  • Aimee Plumb, Louisville, Fr.; Psychology
  • Meghan Schneider, Louisville, Sr.; Biology
  • Charlotte Van Oirschot, Louisville, Fr.; Psychology
  • Bryn Boylan, North Carolina, Sr.; Media & Journalism
  • Erin Matson, North Carolina, Jr.; Media & Journalism
  • Abby Pitcairn, North Carolina; Jr.; Biology
  • Meredith Sholder, North Carolina, Sr.; Psychology
  • Eva Smolenaars, North Carolina, Sr.; Media & Journalism
  • Cassie Sumfest North Carolina; Sr.; Business Administration
  • Hailey Bitters, Syracuse; So.; Nutrition
  • Claire Cook, Syracuse, Sr.; Human Development & Family Science
  • Pleun Lammers, Syracuse; So.; Psychology
  • Florine Van Boetzelaer, Syracuse, Fr.; Undeclared
  • Eveline Van Den Nieurwenhof, Syracuse, Fr.; Undeclared
  • Amber Ezechiels, Virginia, Jr.; Economics
  • Adele Iacobucci, Virginia, So.; Media Studies
  • Laura Janssen, So., Virginia; Undeclared
  • Annie McDonough, Virginia, Jr.; Cognitive Science
  • Rachel Robinson, Virginia; Sr.; Kinesiology
  • Grace Delmotte, Wake Forest, Fr.; Undeclared
  • Natalie Friedman, Wake Forest, So.; Economics
  • Tori Glaister, Wake Forest, Fr.; Undeclared
  • Meike Lanckohr, Wake Forest, So.; Undeclared
  • Hannah Maxwell, Wake Forest, So.; Undeclared
  • Laia Vancells, Wake Forest, Jr.; Biochemistry/French