CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Sophomore pitcher Nate Savino (Sterling, Va.) will be a member of the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team this summer. He is the 11th Cavalier to be a part of the team and ninth under head coach Brian O’Connor.

Savino has appeared in 16 games on the mound for Virginia in 2021 including 10 starts. The lefthander served as Virginia’s Sunday starting pitcher beginning April 11 against Clemson. For the year, Savino boasts a 3-3 record and sports a 3.79 ERA in 54.2 innings pitched. The Cavaliers are 7-3 this season in games he starts. He’s logged wins against Pitt, Virginia Tech and Duke in the regular season. On the road against Virginia Tech, Savino allowed one run over a career-high seven innings pitched in a 6-1 series-deciding win.

The last Cavalier to play for the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team was Andrew Abbott in 2019. O’Connor served as the pitching coach for Team USA in 2018.

The USA Baseball Collegiate National Team will feature 48 players in 2021. The Collegiate team will be split into two teams, the Stars and Stripes, and will go head-to-head in 11 games beginning on July 2. Ten of the team’s 11 games will be played in the cities of the Appalachian League, which is in its first season as a summer collegiate league as part of MLB and USA Baseball’s Prospect Development Pipeline. The Collegiate National Team will also play a game at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, North Carolina, on July 4, at 1:30 p.m. EDT. The game will be streamed on and on USA Baseball’s Facebook and YouTube channels. For a complete schedule, visit Fans are encouraged to follow @USABaseball on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, as well as @USABaseballCNT on Twitter for all the latest news and information on the Collegiate National Team this summer.

Virginia Team USA Members – All-Time

 Student-Athlete/Coach  Year
 Bill Narleski  1986
 Seth Greisinger  1996
 Ryan Zimmerman  2004
 Sean Doolittle  2005
 Sean Doolittle  2006
 Mark Reynolds  2006
 Jacob Thompson  2007
 Branden Kline  2011
 Matt Thaiss  2015
 Jake McCarthy  2017
 Brian O’Connor (Pitching Coach)  2018
 Andrew Abbott  2019
 Nate Savino  2021