CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia men’s lacrosse players Cole Kastner and Connor Shellenberger have been named Tewaaraton Foundation Award nominees, the organization announced on Thursday (April 21). Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be selected and announced in three weeks at the conclusion of the regular season.

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Kastner, a native of Palo Alto, California, is currently sixth in the nation and leads the ACC in caused turnovers (2.33/game). He currently has 28 takeaways this season in addition to 21 ground balls. He tallied a career-high five caused turnovers in the Cavaliers’ 19-8 win over then-No. 14/15 Johns Hopkins on March 5, a game in which he also scored his first career goal. Kastner is also the centerpiece to a Virginia ride that is currently third in the nation and leads the ACC in opponent clear percentage (.754). Kastner, who was named a Tewaaraton Foundation Watch List First Round Addition on March 10, was tabbed ACC Defensive Player of the Week in back-to-back weeks on March 8 and 15.

Shellenberger is currently third in the nation and first in the ACC in assists (3.08/game). The Charlottesville, Virginia native is also eighth in the country and second in the ACC in points (5.25/game). Shellenberger registered at least five points his first eight games of the season, including a career-high eight points against the Blue Jays. The 2021 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player also tallied five assists in three games this season and scored the game-winning goal in the Cavaliers’ win over then-No. 12/10 Notre Dame (March 26). Like Kastner, Shellenberger garnered ACC weekly distinction on March 15.

Both Kastner and Shellenberger were also named Midseason All-Americans, according to Inside Lacrosse on March 31.

Virginia and Syracuse are the only men’s lacrosse programs in the nation with three Tewaaraton Trophy Award winners all-time. Chris Rotelli (2003), Matt Ward (2006) and Steele Stanwick (2011) were honored under the direction of former Virginia head coach Dom Starsia. For more information, visit

“The Tewaaraton Nominees are an extraordinary group of athletes,” said Andy Phillips, President of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “The depth and dispersion of talent in college lacrosse has never been greater, and we are excited to watch the Nominees perform over the closing stretch of the 2022 season.”

2022 Men’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Will Bowen, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Defense
Matt Brandau, Yale – Jr., Attack
Graham Bundy Jr., Georgetown – Jr., Midfield
Zach Cole, Saint Joseph’s – Sr., Face Off
Tucker Dordevic, Syracuse – Sr., Midfield
Chris Gray, North Carolina – Grad. Student, Attack
Sam Handley, Pennsylvania – Sr., Midfield
Jack Hannah, Denver – Grad. Student, Midfield
Cole Kastner, Virginia – Soph., Defense
Patrick Kavanagh, Notre Dame – Jr., Attack
Colin Kirst, Rutgers – Grad. Student, Goalie
Ryan Lanchbury, Richmond – Grad. Student, Attack
Brett Makar, Maryland – Sr., Defense
Owen McElroy, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Goalie
Jack Myers, Ohio State – Sr., Attack
Brendan Nichtern, Army West Point – Sr., Attack
Asher Nolting, High Point – Grad. Student, Attack
Brennan O’Neill, Duke – Soph., Attack
Erik Peters, Princeton – Sr., Goalie
John Piatelli, Cornell – Sr., Attack
Ross Scott, Rutgers – Jr., Attack
Connor Shellenberger, Virginia – Soph., Attack
Mike Sisselberger, Lehigh – Sr., Face Off
Luke Wierman, Maryland – Jr., Face Off
Logan Wisnauskas, Maryland – Fifth Year Senior, Attack