CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The No. 8 Virginia women’s golf team is the No. 2 seed for the NCAA Regional Ann Arbor site that will be held at the University of Michigan Golf Course. The 54-hole regional championship takes place May 9-11.

It marks the 16th time Virginia has received a bid to the NCAA Championships. Virginia will be looking to advance from a regional site to the NCAA Championships for the 12th time in the program’s 19-year history.

A total of six, 12-team regional sites will determine the teams that advance to the NCAA Championships. The top four teams (24 teams total) and the low two individuals (12 individuals total) not on an advancing team from each regional site qualify for the national championships. The NCAA Championships are set for May 20-25 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Virginia opened its season in September playing at the Michigan Golf Course during the Wolverine Invitational. UVA placed second behind the host Wolverines as sophomore Jennifer Cleary (fourth) and freshman Amanda Sambach (sixth) posted top-10 finishes.

“The Michigan golf course is one where course knowledge can provide an advantage,” said UVA coach Ria Scott. “There are some blind tee shots there and because we played there in the fall, I think our team’s comfort level will be better than seeing it for the first time.”

The field at the Ann Arbor Regional site includes (in seed order) 1. San Jose State, 2. Virginia, 3. Michigan, 4. Arkansas, 5. UCF, 6. Virginia Tech, 7. North Carolina, 8. Washington, 9. Ohio State, 10. Pepperdine, 11. Xavier, 12. Oakland.

Last year the Cavaliers failed to advance out of their regional site as a team. Graduate student Beth Lillie advanced to the NCAA Championships where she finished ninth in stroke play.

“When you miss making nationals, considering the quality of the team we had last year, it stings beyond description,” Scott said. “The motivation is certainly there. We need to get to a place where we are not forcing it to happen. Their golf games are there. They are very capable. We need to work, trust and believe in it.”

Virginia is one of 10 ACC teams to receive an invitation to this year’s national championship. Also qualifying were Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Louisville, Miami, NC State, North Carolina, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest.

NCAA Regional Fields

Albuquerque Regional
The Albuquerque Regional will be played at the University of New Mexico Championship Course. New Mexico will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. Oregon, 2 Florida, 3. Texas, 4. Arizona, 5. Georgia, 6. TCU, 7. Louisville, 8. North Texas, 9. Oklahoma, 10. Sam Houston State, 11. Northern Arizona, 12. New Mexico State.

Stillwater Regional
The Stillwater Regional will be played at Karsten Creek Golf Club. Oklahoma State will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. Oklahoma State, 2. Arizona State, 3. Baylor, 4. Auburn, 5. Michigan State, 6. Clemson, 7. Campbell, 8. Furman, 9. NC State, 10. California, 11. Tulane, 12. Illinois State.

Tallahassee Regional
The Tallahassee Regional will be played at Seminole Legacy Golf Club. Florida State will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. South Carolina, 2. UCLA, 3. Florida State, 4. Ole Miss, 5. Illinois, 6. Mississippi State, 7. Miami, 8. Denver, 9. North Florida, 10. College of Charleston, 11. Georgia Southern, 12. Quinnipiac.

Stanford Regional
The Stanford Regional will be played at the Stanford Golf Course. Stanford will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. Stanford, 2. USC, 3. LSU, 4. Texas State, 5. Kentucky, 6. Iowa State, 7. Northwestern, 8. Purdue, 9. UNLV, 10. Cal Poly, 11. Princeton, 12. Sacred Heart.

Franklin Regional
The Franklin Regional will be played at the Vanderbilt Legends Club. Vanderbilt will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. Wake Forest, 2. Alabama, 3. Texas A&M, 4. Duke, 5. Oregon State, 6. Vanderbilt, 7. BYU, 8. Kent State, 9. UTSA, 10. Augusta, 11. Boston Univ., 12. Austin Peay.