CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – For the 14th consecutive time the Virginia men’s golf team has received a bid to the NCAA Regional Championships. The Cavaliers were awarded the number No. 10 seed among 14 teams at the regional championship site at the Yale Golf Course in New Haven, Conn.

A total of 81 teams are competing at six regional sites May 16-18 with the top five teams and top individual (not qualifying with a team) advancing to the NCAA Championships set for May 27-June 1 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.

“I’m excited about going to Yale. I know the golf course very well having played there and having coached there at several regionals,” said Virginia head coach Bowen Sargent. “The last time we played a regional there we got through by a shot or two. It should be a good site for us. Chris Fosdick is from there and Jimmie Massie has played there before. I feel like we have a lot of experience with the golf course and will be in a position where we can advance.”

The regional berth marks the 25th time since 1990 the Cavaliers have competed in postseason play. Virginia is looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the 17th time in its history. In the team’s last NCAA Regional appearance in 2021, UVA placed seventh at the Kingston Springs (Tenn.) Regional.

The field for the New Haven Regional includes (listed by seed): 1. North Carolina, 2. Texas Tech, 3. Wake Forest, 4. Illinois, 5. NC State, 6. Charlotte, 7. North Florida, 8. Georgia Southern, 9. Mississippi State, 10. Virginia, 11. UCF, 12. Seton Hall, 13. Yale and 14. Sacred Heart.

Virginia is one of 10 ACC schools participating in this year’s championship. Also making the tournament this year are: Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Louisville, NC State, North Carolina, Notre Dame and Wake Forest.

The Cavaliers enter the postseason ranked No. 58 by Golfstat and No. 52 by Golfweek.

NCAA Regional Sites and Field

Bryan Regional
The Bryan Regional will be played at Texas A&M’s Traditions Club in Bryan, Texas.
1. Pepperdine, 2. Texas A&M, 3. Georgia, 4. Tennessee, 5. Kansas, 6. Arizona, 7. Michigan State, 8. SMU, 9. Boise State, 10. Oregon State, 11. Colorado State, 12. SE Louisiana, 13. Texas Southern

Columbus Regional
The Columbus Regional will be played at Ohio State’s Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio.
1. Oklahoma State, 2. Georgia Tech, 3. Arkansas, 4. Clemson, 5. East Tennessee State, 6. Ohio State, 7. Duke, 8. Northwestern, 9. Florida Gulf Coast, 10. San Francisco, 11. Kentucky, 12. Wright State, 13. Southern Illinois

Palm Beach Gardens Regional
The Palm Beach Gardens Regional will be played at PGA National Resort – Champions Course and will hosted by Florida Atlantic.
1.Vanderbilt, 2. Florida, 3. Notre Dame, 4. Florida State, 5. Purdue, 6. New Mexico, 7. South Florida 8. Little Rock, 9. Col. of Charleston, 10. Indiana, 11. San Diego, 12. Davidson, 13. Loyola (Md.), 14. Charleston Southern

Stockton Regional
The Stockton Regional will be played at the Reserve at Spanos Park and hosted by Pacific.
1. Arizona State, 2. Washington, 3. Stanford, 4. LSU, 5. Oregon, 6. Nevada, 7. Liberty, 8. BYU, 9. UAB, 10. Houston, 11. UC Davis, 12. Denver, 13. Abilene Christian, 14. Weber State

Norman Regional
The Norman Regional will be played at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club and hosted by Oklahoma.
1. Oklahoma, 2. Texas, 3. Auburn, 4. South Carolina, 5. Ole Miss, 6. Louisville, 7. Missouri, 8. San Diego State, 9. Utah, 10. Kent State, 11. Kansas State, 12. UT Martin, 13. Rider