CHARLOTTESVILLE, – Va. – Virginia third baseman Jake Gelof has been named as one of 31 semifinalists for the Golden Spikes Award, annually bestowed on the top amateur baseball player of the year.

Gelof is the 10th semifinalist in program history, tied for the third-most of any college baseball program. Virginia has been represented in nine different years, tied for the second-most in the NCAA. The inclusion of Gelof as a semifinalist marks back-to-back season UVA has had a semifinalist. All 10 semifinalists in UVA history have played under head coach Brian O’Connor.


Gelof joins Nathan Kirby, Danny Hultzen and Jacob Thompson as the only UVA sophomores to be listed as a semifinalist.

Not included on the award’s initial watch list, Gelof played his way on to the midseason watch list after being named the D1Baseball Midseason Player of the Year. Gelof adds to a growing list of accolades that includes First Team All-ACC honors and a spot among the Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists.

Gelof is enjoying one of the best offensive seasons in program history batting .376 with 19 home runs and 74 RBI. The second year is three home runs shy and three RBI shy of matching UVA single-season records. He ranks in the top-10 nationally in RBI (4th) and slugging percentage (9th – .768) while his .376 batting average is the fifth highest in the ACC.


 Year   Player  Position
 2022  Jake Gelof  3B
 2021  Andrew Abbott  LHP
 2017  Adam Haseley *  LHP/OF
 2017  Pavin Smith  1B/OF
 2016  Connor Jones  RHP
 2014  Nathan Kirby  LHP
 2011  Danny Hultzen*  LHP
 2010  Danny Hultzen  LHP
 2008  Pat McAnaney  LHP
 2007  Sean Doolittle  LHP/1B
 2007  Jacob Thompson  RHP

*Named Finalist for the award

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2022. Beginning with the semifinalist announcement and continuing through the finalist round voting deadline, fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite player on

The winner of the 44th Golden Spikes Award will be named on Friday, June 24, on ESPN. To stay up-to-date on the 2022 Golden Spikes Award visit and follow @USAGoldenSpikes on Twitter and Instagram.

The 2022 Golden Spikes Award timeline:
June 6: USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award semifinalists fan voting ends
June 8: USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists announced, fan voting begins
June 14: USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists fan voting ends
June 24: USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award trophy presentation

A complete list of the 2022 Golden Spikes Award semifinalists is as follows:

Name, Position, School, Conference
Chris Alleyne; OF; Maryland; Big Ten Conference
Jacob Berry; INF; LSU; Southeastern Conference
Chase Burns; RHP; Tennessee; Southeastern Conference
Justin Campbell; RHP; Oklahoma State; Big 12 Conference
Carlos Contreras; OF; Sam Houston; Western Athletic Conference
Dylan Crews; OF; LSU; Southeastern Conference
Gavin Cross; OF; Virginia Tech; Atlantic Coast Conference
Sonny DiChiara; INF; Auburn; Southeastern Conference
Kendal Ewell; OF; Eastern Kentucky; Atlantic Sun Conference
Jake Gelof; INF; Virginia; Atlantic Coast Conference
Peyton Graham; INF; Oklahoma; Big 12 Conference
Tanner Hall; RHP; Southern Miss.; Conference USA
Thomas Harrington; RHP; Campbell; Big South Conference
Cooper Hjerpe; LHP; Oregon State; Pac-12 Conference
Gabriel Hughes; RHP; Gonzaga; West Coast Conference
Jace Jung; INF; Texas Tech; Big 12 Conference
Dominic Keegan; UTIL; Vanderbilt; Southeastern Conference
Ryan Lasko; OF; Rutgers; Big Ten Conference
Brooks Lee; SS; Cal Poly; Big West Conference
Trey Lipscomb; INF; Tennessee; Southeastern Conference
Ryan McCarty; INF; Penn State Abington; United East
Ivan Melendez; INF; Texas; Big 12 Conference
Jacob Melton; OF/INF; Oregon State; Pac-12 Conference
Parker Messick; LHP; Florida State; Atlantic Coast Conference
Kevin Parada; C; Georgia Tech; Atlantic Coast Conference
Tanner Schobel; INF; Virginia Tech; Atlantic Coast Conference
Daniel Susac; C; Arizona; Pac-12 Conference
Drew Thorpe; RHP; Cal Poly; Big West Conference
Max Wagner; INF; Clemson; Atlantic Coast Conference
Tommy White; INF; NC State; Atlantic Coast Conference
Jacob Wilson; INF; Grand Canyon; Western Athletic Conference