CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Four members of the Virginia men’s soccer team were honored by the Atlantic Coast Conference on Wednesday (Nov. 9) when the league announced Andreas Ueland as Defensive Player of the Year along with three of his teammates earning spots on the All-ACC teams. The all-conference teams are selected by a vote of ACC coaches.

In addition to being named ACC Defensive Player of the Year, Andreas Ueland was selected to the All-ACC first team along with his co-captain and striker, Leo Afonso. Virginia goalkeeper Holden brown was selected to the third team and left wingback Reese Miller earned All-Freshman honors.

Ueland earns the honor of Defensive Player of the Year and first-team honors for the first time in his four-season career at Virginia. The defender has twice been named to the third team and once to the all-tournament team. This season, Ueland has served as the cornerstone of the Virginia defense starting all 17 matches this season and logging the most minutes of any field player at center back. He scored the equalizing goal in Virginia’s comeback win over Virginia Tech and saved the game with a sliding tackle inside his own penalty area in Virginia’s win over No. 3 Syracuse.

Afonso makes his first appearance on the first team after being named to the second team a season ago. Leading the team with a total of 16 points, Afonso has logged a total of six goals and four assists – tied for the team lead in both categories. Afonso has the second-highest total of game winning goals in the ACC with four. Virginia is 6-0 when he scores and 9-0 when he registers a point.

Brown earns his first All-ACC honor after his second season as the Virginia goalkeeper. Brown has posted an overall record of 10-4-3 while making 50 saves stopping 74 percent of shots that come his way. He also posted the second-most shutouts among ACC goalkeepers with eight. Brown most recently comes off an ACC quarterfinal in which he made a season-high nine saves to preserve a 1-0 victory for Virginia.

In his first season, Reese Miller has impressed as a Cavalier. The All-Freshman selection has logged the most minutes of any first year while starting 13 games at left wingback. Miller is a strong defender in a Virginia defense that posted eight shutouts this season but provides a skilled attacking threat on the wing. Miller scored two goals this season which both went down as game winners in two matches against Pitt. The first came in a statement 3-1 road win for the Cavaliers while his second put Virginia through to the ACC semifinal.

2022 ACC Men’s Soccer Award Winners
Offensive Player of the Year – Shakur Mohammed, So., F, Duke
Defensive Player of the Year – Andreas Ueland, Sr., D, Virginia
Midfielder of the Year – Peter Stroud, Jr., Duke
Goalkeeper of the Year – Eliot Hamill, Sr., Duke
Freshman of the Year – Kamran Acito, D, Duke
Coach of the Year – Ian McIntyre, Syracuse

2022 All-ACC Team

First Team
Ousmane Sylla, Jr., F, Clemson
Eliot Hamill, Gr., GK, Duke
Shakur Mohammed, So., F, Duke
Peter Stroud, Jr., M, Duke
Sander Roed, So., M, Louisville
Valentin Noel, Sr., F, Pitt
Filip Mirkovic, Jr., M, Pitt
Levonte Johnson, Sr., F, Syracuse
Nathan Opoku, So., F, Syracuse
Leo Afonso, Jr., F, Virginia
Andreas Ueland, Sr., D, Virginia

Second Team
Stefan Sigurdarson, Sr., F, Boston College
Hamady Diop, Jr., D, Clemson
Amir Daley, Jr., D, Duke
Nick Pariano, Jr., M, Duke
Aboubacar Camara, Jr., F, Louisville
Milo Garvanian, Sr., D, North Carolina
Bertin Jacquesson, Jr., F, Pitt
Jackson Walti, R-Sr., M, Pitt
Russell Shealy, R-Sr., GK, Syracuse
Garrison Tubbs, Jr., D, Wake Forest
Roald Mitchell, So., F, Wake Forest

Third Team
Victor Souza, Sr., D, Boston College
Mohamed Seye, Sr., F, Clemson
Antino Lopez, Jr., D, Duke
Conor Kelly, Gr., M, NC State
Daniel Russo, Jr., F, Notre Dame
Christian Curti, Sr., D, Syracuse
Jeorgio Kocevski, Jr., M, Syracuse
Holden Brown, So., GK, Virginia
Jahlane Forbes, Jr., D, Wake Forest
Babacar Niang, So., M, Wake Forest
Prince Amponsah, Jr., D, Wake Forest

 All-Freshman Team
Joseph Andema, GK, Clemson
Kamran Acito, D, Duke
Axel Gudbjornsson, D, Duke
Kenan Hot, M, Duke
Sam Williams, M, North Carolina
KK Baffour, M, Notre Dame
Jackson Gilman, D, Pitt
Reese Miller, D, Virginia
Misei Yoshizawa, M, Virginia Tech
Cooper Flax, M, Wake Forest
Vlad Walent, M, Wake Forest