CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Five Virginia field hockey players were named to the 2022 NFHCA Division I All-South Region teams, as announced on Tuesday (Nov. 22) by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

Grad student Annie McDonough, senior Adele Iacobucci and freshman Daniela Mendez-Trendler were named to the first team, while senior Laura Janssen and freshman Jet Trimborn earned second-team honors. Each of the five regions named 16 student-athletes to their first team and 16 student-athletes to their second team.

McDonough was an All-ACC first-team honoree this season after being named to the second team last year. She scored two of her three goals this season in the ACC tournament, including scoring the first goal in the game against Wake Forest and assisting on the overtime game-winner. She played in 97 games in her UVA career, making 96 starts with 15 goals and 21 assists. This is her first time being named to an All-Region team.

Iacobucci entered the season earning a spot on the Preseason All-ACC team and finished the year with a sport on the conference’s second team. All three of her goals this season were game-winners, including the overtime goal in the ACC semifinal game against Wake Forest. This is her third All-South Region first-team honor.

Mendez-Trendler tallied 19 points this season on eight goals and three assists. She was named First Team All-ACC as well as earning a weekly honor from the conference and was named the Synapse Sports National Rookie of the Week. She is the first Virginia freshman to earn All-Region honors since Rachel Robinson was named to the second team in her rookie year. She joins Tara Vittese, Elly Buckley, Paige Selenski and Meredith Thorpe on the list of Virginia freshmen to be named First-Team All-Region.

Janssen led the team in scoring with 12 goals and two assists, her second time pacing the squad in her four seasons. She finished her career with 33 goals and five assists. This is her second time being named to the All-Region team, also earning second-team honors her sophomore season.

Trimborn took over the goalkeeping duties midway through the sixth game of the season and stayed in the cage for the remainder of the year. She posted a 1.15 goals-against average, a 10-5 record with five shutouts. She was named to the All-ACC second team and picked up two ACC Defensive Player of the Week awards.

The NFHCA Division I All-Region team announcement is the first in a list of postseason awards to come from the NFHCA over the next several weeks. Next to be announced are the NFHCA Regional Players of the Year on November 30, followed by the NFHCA All-American teams on December 13 and the NFHCA National Player of the Year on December 15.

South Region First Team

Adele Iacoubucci, University of Virginia (Midfielder)
Annie McDonough, University of Virginia (Forward)
Ashley Sessa, University of North Carolina (Midfielder)
Azul Iritxity Irigoyen, Liberty University (Goalkeeper)
Bethany Dykema, Liberty University (Defender)
Cam MacGillivray, Old Dominion University (Goalkeeper)
Daniela Mendez-Trendler, University of Virginia (Midfielder)
Delphine Le Jeune, Old Dominion University (Midfielder)
Erin Matson, University of North Carolina (Forward)
Eveline Zwagar, James Madison University (Forward)
Hannah Miller, Duke University (Forward)
Lizzie Hamlett, Liberty University (Midfielder)
Meike Lanckohr, Wake Forest University (Midfielder)
Meredith Sholder, University of North Carolina (Midfielder)
Ryleigh Heck, University of North Carolina (Forward)
Sky Caron, Wake Forest University (Defender)

South Region Second Team

Charlie van Oirschot, Duke University (Midfielder)
Charlotte Vaanhold, Liberty University (Midfielder)
Diede Remijnse, James Madison University (Defender)
Frederique Zandbergen, Old Dominion University (Midfielder)
Friederike Stegen, Appalachian State University (Midfielder)
Grace Delmotte, Wake Forest University (Midfielder)
Jet Trimborn, University of Virginia (Goalkeeper)
Jodie Connolly, Liberty University (Defender)
Kara McClure, James Madison University (Defender)
Laura Janssen, University of Virginia (Forward)
Lauren Curran, The College of William & Mary (Forward)
Lindsey Frank, University of Richmond (Midfielder)
Litiana Field, Virginia Commonwealth University (Defender)
Marlon de Bruijne, Old Dominion University (Forward)
Nathalie Friedman, Wake Forest University (Midfielder)
Sietske Brüning, University of North Carolina (Midfielder)