CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Virginia men’s and women’s track and field teams begin their championship seasons at the ACC Indoor Championships beginning Thursday (Feb. 23) and running through Saturday (Feb. 25) in at the Norton Healthcare Sport and Learning Center in Louisville, Ky.

How to Follow
The ACC Indoor Championships will be live streamed on ACC Network Extra on all three days of competition with a team of Shawn Kenney, Norm Ogilvie and Hailey Hunter calling the action from the booth. Links to the ACCNX live stream, live stats and the overall meet schedule are available at Updates will also be posted to the team’s official Twitter account (@UVAtfcc).

Meet Details:
Live Results:
Meet Schedule:

Thursday Live Stream Schedule
4-6 p.m.: ACCNX
6-8 p.m.: ACCNX

Friday Live Stream Schedule
11 a.m.-2 p.m.: ACCNX
3-8 p.m.: ACCNX

Saturday Live Stream Schedule
11 a.m.-12 p.m.: ACCNX
12-4 p.m.: ACCNX

Noting The Cavaliers:

  • Two Cavaliers won individual ACC Indoor Championships last season including Owayne Owens (TJ), and Maria Deaviz (Shot Put) – Owens is the only remaining Cavalier to win a title last season.
  • The Cavalier women have finished in the ACC’s top-3 at the indoor championships on nine occasions, last accomplishing the feat in 2021.
  • The Cavalier men last finished in the top-3 in 2020 and have accomplished the feat on five occasions.
  • The last ACC Indoor Title for the Cavaliers came in 1987 when the Virginia women lifted the trophy in their Inaugural season.
  • The Virginia men have never won an ACC Indoor Championship.
  • Last season, the Virginia women finished fifth while the men finished 10th

Cavaliers in the ACC Top-10

1. Owayne Owens – Gr., Triple Jump, 16.63m (68’9.75”)*
3. Conor Murphy – Jr., 800m, 1:47.41*
3. Conor Murphy – Jr., Mile, 3:55.24*
3. DMR (Murphy, Sherman, Martin, Porter), 9:23.71*
4. Wes Porter – Jr., Mile, 3:56.83
4. Gary Martin – Fr., Mile, 3:56.83
5. Jacob Lemmon, Jr. – Weight Throw, 20.97m (68’9.75”)
6. Justin Rogers, Fr., – Pole Vault, 5.10m (16’8.75”)
7. Yasin Sado – Jr., 3000m, 7:53.03 (Coverted)
7. Derek Johnson – Gr., 5000m, 13:39.88
8. Alex Sherman – So., 400m, 47.42
9. James Donahue – Fr., Mile, 3:57.44
9. Peter Djan – Fr, 60mH, 8.05
9. 4×400 (White, Sherman, Pendarvis, Corel), 3:15.89

2. DMR (Seeland, Alexandru, Seasholtz, Appleton), 10:54.99 (Converted)*
3. Esther Seeland – Gr., 800m, 2:03.67*
3. Alix Still – Sr., Pentathlon, 4083*
4. Jada Seaman – Sr., 200m, 23.74
4. Margot Appleton – So., Mile, 4:33.82*
5. Jada Seaman – Sr., Long Jump, 6.18m (20’3.5”)
6. Margot Appleton – So., 3000m, 9:00.06 (Converted)*
6. Jordan Hardy – Fr., Triple Jump, 12.86m (42’2.25”)
6. 4×400 (Akpan, Seaman, Alexandru, Sabbakhan), 3:41.66
7. Sam Romano – Fr., Pole Vault, 4.20m (13’9.25”)
7. Jordan Hardy – Fr., Long Jump, 6.12m (20’1”)
9. Trina Barcarola – Jr., Pole Vault, 4.10m (13’5.25”)
10. Jada Seaman – Sr., 60m, 7.46
10. Ashley Anumba – Gr., Shot Put, 15.67m (51’5)

*Currently Ranks in the nation’s top-25
Top 16 individuals (12 Relays) qualify for NCAA Indoor Championships

The Smithfield Commonwealth Clash
The Smithfield Commonwealth Clash, originally called the Commonwealth Challenge (2005-2007), has been a part of the UVA-Virginia Tech rivalry since 2014. It is an all-sports, points-based program with the Commonwealth Clash trophy presented to the winning school each year for its dominance in head-to-head competitions.

In men’s and women’s track and field, the commonwealth clash point is awarded to the team that finishes higher at the ACC Championships. The Cavaliers currently lead the Hokies by a margin of 6.0-4.0 this season.