CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia first-year men’s golfer Ben James (Milford, Conn.) is one of 15 players named to the Spring Haskins Award Watch List on Friday (March 10), the Haskins Foundation announced.

The Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel is considered the most prestigious award in collegiate golf and is presented annually to the most outstanding male golfer. This is the 53rd year of the award. The winner of the oldest individual college golf award is voted on by players, coaches, golf SIDS, and select golf media members and will be announced in early June.

James has led UVA in scoring in five of six tournaments this season. His stroke average is a team-best 69.22. He has posted under-par scores in 13 of 18 rounds this year.

At UVA’s season-opening tournament at the Streamsong Invitational, he shot a school-record 20-under, 196 to capture medalist honors. UVA posted a team score of 56-under 808, the lowest tournament score in program history. Coming off that opening win, UVA was ranked No. 1 nationally by Golfweek, the program’s first-ever top ranking. James was ranked No. 2 in the Golfweek individual standings.

The Cavaliers return to action March 13 at the General Hackler Championship in Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Springs Haskins Award Watch List
Springs Haskins Award Watch List
Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
Cole Anderson, Florida State
David Ford, North Carolina
Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
Ian Gilligan, Long Beach State
Austin Greaser, North Carolina
Benjamin James, Virginia
Tommy Kuhl, Illinois
Christian Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
Yuxin Lin, Florida
Christiaan Maas, Texas
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
Calum Scott, Texas Tech
Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford