CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Graduate student Ashlyn McGovern has been named a Tewaaraton Award Top 25 Nominee, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced on Thursday (April 20).

McGovern leads the UVA attacking unit, scoring 55 goals and adding six assists so far in the 2023 season. The Phoenix, Md., native ranks second in the ACC and fifth in the NCAA in goals scored and is eighth nationally in goals per game (3.67). She also is second in the ACC and 13th in the NCAA in free position goals per game (0.93). McGovern has multiple goals in all but one game this season and has 12 hat tricks, including four-straight games with a hat trick. She has notched a career-high with two assists in two contests. McGovern scored a career-high seven goals in UVA’s win over Clemson and has four or more goals in eight games.

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Five women’s finalists will be selected from this group, to be announced May 11 at the conclusion of the regular season.

“The Tewaaraton Nominees are an extraordinary group of athletes,” said Andy Phillips, President of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “Their talent is taking the excitement of college lacrosse to a new level, and we are eager to watch the Nominees and their teammates perform over the closing stretch of the 2023 season.”

This year’s list of women’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees features players from 14 different schools, led by Northwestern with four players, Syracuse with three, and two each for Boston College, Denver, Florida, James Madison, Loyola and Notre Dame. In all, seven players return from the 2022 list of nominees.

25 Women’s Nominees:
Madison Ahern, Notre Dame – Sr., Attack
Meghan Ball, Rutgers – Sr., Defense
Abby Bosco, Maryland – Grad. Student, Defense
Kasey Choma, Notre Dame – Sr., Midfield
Erin Coykendall, Northwestern – Sr., Attack
Katie Detwiler, Loyola – Grad. Student, Defense
Mairead Durkin, James Madison – Sr., Defense
Emma LoPinto, Florida – Soph., Attack
Ellie Masera, Stony Brook – Jr., Midfield
Ashlyn McGovern, Virginia – Grad. Student, Attack
Trinity McPherson, Denver – Grad. Student, Defense
Jenn Medjid, Boston College – Grad. Student, Attack
Emily Nalls, North Carolina – Sr., Defense
Isabella Peterson, James Madison – Jr., Attack
Sarah Reznick, Florida – Redshirt Junior, Goalie
Hailey Rhatigan, Northwestern – Grad. Student, Attack
Izzy Scane, Northwestern – Grad. Student, Attack
Belle Smith, Boston College – Jr., Midfield
Jill Smith, Michigan – Soph., Attack
Delaney Sweitzer, Syracuse – Sr., Goalie
Sam Thacker, Denver – Sr., Defense
Meaghan Tyrrell, Syracuse – Grad. Student, Attack
Emma Ward, Syracuse – Jr., Attack
Sammy White, Northwestern – Soph., Defense
Jillian Wilson, Loyola – Grad. Student, Midfield