CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Ten members of the Virginia Track & Field team received Academic All-District honors from College Sports Communicators as the annual award winners were announced Wednesday (May 31) by the organization.

 Five Virginia women were honored by the organization including Hanne Borstlap (Pole Vault), Keara Seasholtz (Middle-Distance), Esther Seeland (Middle-Distance/Cross Country), Alix Still (Combined), and Anna Workman (Middle Distance).

On the men’s side, honorees include Derek Johnson (Distance/Cross Country), Nate Mountain (Distance), Owayne Owens (Triple Jump), Alex Sherman (Sprints/Hurdles), and Justin Wachtel (Cross Country).

The 2023 Academic All-District Men’s Track & Field / Cross Country Teams, selected by College Sports Communicators, recognize the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances in the athletic realm and in the classroom. Academic All-District honorees advance to the CSC Academic All-America ballot. First-, second and third-team Academic All-America honorees will be announced June 29.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be in at least their second year of competition and have a minimum 3.5 career GPA and competed in at least 50 percent of the team’s competitions. Graduate students must have a minimum 3.5 graduate GPA and also had a 3.5 minimum GPA as an undergraduate.