CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Virginia women’s lacrosse team earned IWLCA Academic Honor Squad recognition and had 12 student-athletes named to the 2023 IWLCA Academic Honor Roll, the organization announced on Wednesday (July 26).

UVA was one of 289 schools across Division I, II, III and NAIA to be named an IWLCA Academic Honor Squad for the 2022-23 academic year. To qualify for this prestigious honor, the women’s lacrosse team must have posted a 3.2 or higher team GPA for the academic year.

The Cavaliers had 12 student-athletes among the 941 recognized on the 2023 IWLCA Division I Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for this honor, student-athletes must be a junior, senior or graduate student and have earned a cumulative academic GPA of 3.50 or greater.

Virginia’s honorees include senior Jaime Biskup (Media Studies/Entrepreneurship), junior Maggie Bostain (Kinesiology), senior Alex Burtnett (Global Studies/Leadership), graduate student Nina Garfinkel (Counselor Education), junior Mackenzie Hoeg (Kinesiology), graduate student Annika Meyer (Commerce), graduate student Taylor Mullen (Counselor Education), junior Lauren Pederson (Economics/Spanish), junior Morgan Schwab (Government), graduate student Darby Welsh (Bioengineering), junior Ashley West (Biology) and junior Devon Whitaker (Kinesiology).