CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Six Virginia men’s lacrosse players in Connor Shellenberger (first team), Payton Cormier (second team), Cole Kastner (third team), Griffin Schutz (third team), Ben Wayer (honorable mention) and Chase Yager (honorable mention) have been tabbed USA Lacrosse All-Americans, the organization announced Thursday (May 9).

Virginia’s six All-Americans tied for second-most among all Division I programs nationally.

Thursday’s announcement marks Shellenberger’s second career USA Lacrosse first-team honor, having also been named a first-team selection in 2021, while Yager and Wayer earned their first career All-American nods.

All-Americans were selected by USA Lacrosse Magazine staff and contributors with input from coaches and conferences across the country.

Up next, the sixth-seeded Cavaliers (10-5) host Saint Joseph’s (10-3) in the first round of the NCAA Tournament on Saturday (May 11). Opening faceoff from Klöckner Stadium is set for noon on ESPNU. Tickets and parking passes are on sale now and can be purchased at

USA Lacrosse First Team All-America
A – Matt Brandau, Yale
A – Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame
A – CJ Kirst, Cornell
A – Connor Shellenberger, Virginia
M – Graham Bundy Jr., Georgetown
M – Evan Plunkett, Army
M – Shane Knobloch, Rutgers
SSDM – Beau Pederson, Michigan
SSDM – Ben Ramsey, Notre Dame
FO – Justin Wietfeldt, Michigan
LSM – Jake Piseno, Albany
D – Kenny Brower, Duke
D – Brendan Lavelle, Penn
D – Ajax Zappitello, Maryland
G – Liam Entenmann, Notre Dame

USA Lacrosse Second Team All-America
A – Payton Cormier, Virginia
A – Sam King, Harvard
A – TJ Malone, Penn State
A – Brennan O’Neill, Duke
M – Andrew McAdorey, Duke
M – Jake Stevens, Syracuse
M – Alexander Vardaro, Georgetown
SSDM – Dylan Hess, Georgetown
SSDM – Jackson Peters, Navy
FO – Alec Stathakis, Denver
LSM – Will Donovan, Notre Dame
D – Jimmy Freehill, Denver
D – AJ Pilate, Army
D – Scott Smith, Johns Hopkins
G – Emmet Carroll, Penn

USA Lacrosse Third Team All-America
A – Garrett Degnon, Johns Hopkins
A – Louis Perfetto, Boston University
A – Joey Spallina, Syracuse
A – Justin Tiernan, Michigan
M – Max Krevsky, Yale
M – Griffin Schutz, Virginia
M – Mikey Weisshaar, Towson
SSDM – Eli Fisher, Ohio State
SSDM – Grant Haus, Penn State
FO – Will Coletti, Army
LSM – AJ Mercurio, Denver
D – Richard Checo, Lehigh
D – Billy Dwan, Syracuse
D – Cole Kastner, Virginia
G – Michael Gianforcaro, Princeton

USA Lacrosse Honorable Mention All-America
A – Jacob Angelus, Johns Hopkins
A – Ryan Bell, Providence
A – Michael Boehm, Michigan
A – Aidan Carroll, Georgetown
A – Nick DeMaio, Towson\
A – Owen Duffy, North Carolina
A – Owen Hiltz, Syracuse
A – Chris Kavanagh, Notre Dame
A – Michael Long, Cornell
A – Coulter Mackesy, Princeton
A – Morgan O’Reilly, Sacred Heart
A – Ryan Stines, Utah
A – JP Ward, Delaware
A – Dalton Young, Richmond
A – Josh Zawada, Duke
M – Eric Dobson, Notre Dame
M – Hunter Drouin, Colgate
M – Hugh Kelleher, Cornell
M – Michael Leo, Syracuse
M – Lance Madonna, Richmond
M – Devon McLane, Notre Dame
M – Jacob Morin, Army
M – Chad Palumbo, Princeton
M – Adam Poitras, Loyola
M – Charlie Pope, Vermont
M – Cam Rubin, Penn
M – Eric Spanos, Maryland
M – Finn Thomson, Syracuse
SSDM – Chris Bardak, Air Force
SSDM – Brett Martin, Johns Hopkins
SSDM – Andrew O’Berry, Harvard
SSDM – Marquez White, Princeton
SSDM – Casey Wilson, Denver
SSDM – Chase Yager, Virginia
FO – James Ball, Georgetown
FO – Nathan LaLiberte, Bryant
FO – Will Lynch, Notre Dame
FO – Machado Rodriguez, Yale
FO – Luke Wierman, Maryland
LSM – Tyler Carpenter, Duke
LSM – Roy Meyer, Boston University
LSM – Jack Stuzin, Yale
LSM – Ben Wayer, Virginia
LSM – Max Yates, Colgate
LSM – Stephen Zupicich, Villanova
D – Colby Barsz, Towson
D – Jackson Bonitz, Navy
D – Charlie Cave, Brown
D – Chris Conlin, Notre Dame
D – Marcus Hudgins, Ohio State
D – Patrick Morrison, Boston University
D – Colin Mulshine, Princeton
D – Patrick Pisano, Yale
D – Alex Ross, Penn State
D – Jayson Singer, Cornell
D – Beaudan Szuluk, Johns Hopkins
D – Levi Verch, Saint Joseph’s
D – Mason Woodward, Marquette
G – Ryan Della Rocco, Jacksonville
G – Kevin Ellington, Delaware
G – Jack Fracyon, Penn State
G – JC Higginbotham, Bellarmine
G – Chayse Ierlan, Johns Hopkins
G – Matt Knote, UMass
G – Wyatt Knust, Cornell
G – Will Mark, Syracuse
G – Mason Oak, Quinnipiac