RALEIGH, N.C. – No. 16 Virginia won two of five grand finals to finish second at the ACC Rowing championship Saturday (May 18) morning on Lake Wheeler. Syracuse won two grand finals, including the Varsity Eight, to win the ACC championship and end the Cavaliers’ ACC championship win streak at 13.

Syracuse and Virginia each finished with 90 points as the Orange claimed the tiebreaker with the win in the Varsity Eight. Duke finished third with 78 points followed by Notre Dame (68), Miami (52), Clemson (41), North Carolina (37), Louisville (21) and Boston College (17).

The ACC championship regatta was the last for Virginia head coach Kevin Sauer, who will retire after the season. Sauer has guided the Cavaliers to 22 ACC titles in the 24 years of the event.

“It’s tough, but all credit to Syracuse,” Sauer said. “They did what they had to do those last two races to win the ACC championship. I am truly proud of our team. We showed a lot of heart and never gave up. It’s disappointing, but that’s life. I love these kids to death. It didn’t happen today, but hopefully we’ll get an NCAA bid and rally at that championship.”

UVA’s Third Varsity Eight started the grand finals by holding off runner-up Syracuse 6:35.011-6:38.985. Duke finished third at 6:42.378.

The Cavaliers defeated runner-up Duke 7:11.110-7:11.770 in a highly-competitive Second Varsity Four race. Syracuse finished third at 7:12.626.

Duke topped UVA 7:05.130-7:11.290 in the Varsity Four. Notre Dame held off Syracuse for third place.

The Cavaliers’ Second Varsity Eight was edged by Syracuse 6:19.406-6:21.320. Duke finished third at 6:27.753.

In the premier race of the championship, Syracuse rowed to its first ACC team title with a 6:09.814-6:15.514 win over UVA. Notre Dame finished third at 6:18.877.

The NCAA Rowing Championships are set for May 31-June 2 on Harsha Lake in Bethel, Ohio. The NCAA DI Rowing Selection Show is set for Tuesday, May 21 at 5 p.m. on NCAA.com.

2024 All-ACC Rowing Team
ACC Coach of the Year: Luke McGee, Syracuse
ACC Newcomer of the Year: Isalina Colsman, Notre Dame
ACC Crew of the Year: Syracuse V8 – Caileigh Grimes (cox), Emmie Frederico, Ellie-Kate Hutchinson, Alena Criss, Zoe Acosta, Kamile Kralikaite, India Aikens, Aphrodite Gioulekas, Izabela Krakic

First Team
Emmie Frederico, Syracuse
Kamile Kralikaite, Syracuse
Aphrodite Gioulekas, Syracuse
Caileigh Grimes, Syracuse (coxswain)
Katherine Kelly, Virginia
Lauren Benedict, Virginia
Lena Mills, Duke
Natalie Hoefer, Notre Dame
Aaliah Dawson, Miami

Second Team
Alena Criss, Syracuse
Nora Grabcheski, Virginia (coxswain)
Kathryn Nash, Duke
Margaret Newell, Notre Dame
Constance Stirling, Miami
Emerey Sampson, Clemson
Madelaine Johnson, North Carolina
Claire Carver-Ritter, Louisville
Lauren Meath, Boston College

Saturday Grand Final Results
Third Varsity Eight: 1. Virginia, 6:35.011, 2. Syracuse, 6:38.985, 3. Duke, 6:42.378, 4. Notre Dame, 6:53.538, 5. Miami, 6:56.008, 6. North Carolina, 6:56.071

Second Varsity Four: 1. Virginia, 7:11.110, 2. Duke, 7:11.770, 3. Syracuse, 7:12.626,4. Clemson, 7:28.406, 5. Notre Dame, 7:32.160, 6. North Carolina, 7:36.136

Varsity Four: 1. Duke, 7:05.130, 2. Virginia, 7:11.290. 3. Notre Dame, 7:15.693, 4. Syracuse, 7:18.690, 5. Clemson, 7:19.257, 6. North Carolina, 7:27.080

Second Varsity Eight: 1. Syracuse, 6:19.406, 2. Virginia, 6:21.320, 3. Duke, 6:27.753, 4. Miami, 6:33.373, 5. Notre Dame, 6:37.130, 6. Louisville, 6:41.380

Varsity Eight: 1. Syracuse, 6:09.814, 2. Virginia, 6:15.514, 3. Notre Dame, 6:18.877, 4. Duke, 6:21.764, 5. Miami, 6:23.427, 6. Clemson, 6:26.787


Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Nora Grabcheski, Stroke: Lauren Jochims, 7: Skylar Morrison, 6: Jenna Hajji, 5: Catherine Williams, 4: Lauren Benedict, 3: Eva Frohnhofer, 2: Kate Kelly, Bow: Meagan Goldsmith

Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Zoe Tekeian, Stroke: Sophia Coppola, 7: Cameron Bentley, 6: Kelsey Gems, 5: Paige Loh, 4: Izzie Bird, 3: Sheila Joyce, 2: Lila Henn, Bow: Kate McGee

Third Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Allison Triano, Stroke: Kennedy Housley, 7: Helene Dimitrijev, 6: Lily Bernero, 5: Beatrice Jones, 4: Riley Richardson, 3: Katie Rapaglia, 2: Sarah Rapaglia, Bow: Molly Bidwell

Varsity Four: Coxswain: Chloe Lee, Stroke: Caeley Tierney, 3: Ailbhe O’Grady, 2: Teagan Orth; Bow: Dylan Bentley

Second Varsity Four: Coxswain: Emma Bradish, Stroke: Stella Bittman, 3: Savannah Fox, 2: Lily Jarrett; Bow: Sydney Fratamico

Spares: Coxswain Ashlyn McGinn, Reilly Katz