HOUSTON – Four incoming Virginia squash players will be competing at the 2024 WSF World Junior Squash Championships, being held July 12-23 at the Houston Squash Club in Houston, Texas.

Nathan Rosenzweig, Ewan Harris and Juan Jose Torres competed in Boy’s U19 while Maria Min will play in Girls’ U19.

The individual tournament runs from July 12-17 with the team event running July 18-23.

In the individual tournament, Torres, who was a 3/4 seed, won three matches to advance to the Round of 16 before falling against Harith Danial Jefri. Both Harris and Rosenzweig won their opening matches before falling in the Round of 64. They both won matches in the consolation draw.

Min was upset in her opening match against Valerie Huang , falling 3-2, but then stormed through the consolation draw, making it to the consolation final before falling 3-1 against Doyce Ye San Lee on Wednesday morning. Both players were 17-32 seeds upset in their first-round matches.

The team events feature three players (picked from squads of four players) from each team battling it out, with the first team to win two matches being victorious.

This year’s event will see the men’s team event and the women’s team event held concurrently for the first time in World Squash history, with tournaments traditionally alternating the team events each year.

243 players from 39 national federations are competing in this year’s WSF World Junior Squash Championships.

In addition to live scoring on Club Locker, action from the show court will also be streamed on Squash TV (subscription required) with streams from the side courts streaming here.


R128: Juan Jose Torres def Mika von Aesch 11-5, 11-2, 11-4
R64: Juan Jose Torees def. Oliver Dunbar 14-12, 13-15, 11-6, 11-5
R32: Juan Jose Torres def. Jacob Lin 11-3, 11-4, 11-4
R16: Harith Danial Jefri def Juan Jose Torres 11-4, 7-11, 11-2, 11-7
CQF: Juan Jose Torres def Javier Emilio Romeo Lopez 6-11, 11-8, 13-11, 11-6

R128: Ewan Harris def. Yuv Pahuja 11-1, 11-4, 11-1
R64: Adham Roshdy def. Ewan Harris 12-10, 11-7, 5-11, 11-4
C: Ewan Harris def Shunsaku Kariyazono 11-8, 6-11, 11-6, 11-7
C16: Ewan Harris def Arihant KS 13-11, 11-7, 11-7
CQF: Ewan Harris def Altamis A Sufian 8-11, 11-4, 11-8, 11-6

R128: Valerie Huang def. Maria Min 11-5, 11-7, 8-11, 3-11, 11-3
C64: Maria Min def. Shu-Yu Lee 11-2, 11-1, 11-2
C32: Maria Min def Sehar Nayar 11-2. 11-9. 11-5
C16: Maria Min def. Emily Lamb 8-11, 11-6, 1–5, 11-6
CQF: Maria Min def Joanne Joseph 11-7, 11-5, 11-3
CSF: Maria Min def Robyn McAlpine 11-9, 5-11, 11-5, 15-13
CFinal: Doyca Ye San Lee def Maria Min 7-11, 11-6, 11-6, 11-6

R128: Nathan Rosenzweig def. Pan Hong-Rui 11-2, 11-1, 11-1
R64: Youssef Sarhan def Nathan Rosensweig 11-9, 11-1, 7-11, 7-11, 11-8
C: Nathan Rosenzweig def. Avalokit Singh 11-3, 8-11, 11-4, 11-7
C16: Ivan Jia Yu Chang def Natahn Rosenzweig 9-11, 11-4, 11-8, 11-9