June 19, 2017

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Sophomore Maggie Jackson (Alexandria, Va.) was named the Virginia Sports Information Director’s Women’s Lacrosse Player of the Year and freshman Sammy Mueller (Pelham, N.Y.) was the Rookie of the Year.

Jackson led UVA with 74 points, scoring 41 goals and 33 assists. The IWLCA Second Team All-American was the only player in the Atlantic Coast Conference this season to lead her team in points, ground balls (57), draw controls (71), and caused turnovers (33). The All-ACC first team midfielder’s ground balls per game (1st), assist per game (4th), and points per game (6th) ranked in the top-10 in the ACC while she had at least one point in every game this season and scored a goal in all but two games.

Mueller was named the ACC Freshman of the Year and led the Cavaliers with five game-winning goals this season. Mueller was third on the team with 37 goals and 51 ground balls and second on the team with 27 caused turnovers. She recorded a career-high six goals, including the game-winner against Richmond.

Along with Jackson, senior Kelly Reese (Severna Park, Md.), junior Kasey Behr (Northport, N.Y.) and sophomore Kaitlin Luzik (Alexandria, Va.) were named to the VaSID All-State First Team. Behr was a IWLCA Third Team All-American after finishing with 34 goals this season and scored multiple goals in 10 games, with five of those being hat tricks. Luzik, a second-team All-ACC selection, started every game on defense for the Cavaliers, finishing third on the team in draw controls (38), fourth in ground balls (42) and fifth in caused turnovers (21).

Senior Besser Dyson (Alexandria, Va.) joined Mueller on the VaSID Second Team. Dyson Totaled 33 assists to lead the team and rank 4th in the ACC with 1.57 assists per game and was second on the team with 61 points (28 goals).

2017 VaSID All-State University Division Women’s Lacrosse Team

VaSID Player of the Year – Maggie Jackson, Virginia
VaSID Coach of the Year – Shelley Klaes-Bawcombe, James Madison
VaSID Rookie of the Year – Sammy Mueller, Virginia

1st Team
G – Megan Gianforte, Richmond
D – Abby Junior, William & Mary
D – Kaitlin Luzik, Virginia
D – Rebecca Tooker, James Madison
D – Victoria Tickle, Liberty
M – Kasey Behr, Virginia
M – Maggie Jackson, Virginia
M – Haley Warden, James Madison
A – Kim Egizi, Richmond
A – Kristen Gaudian, James Madison
A – Kelly Reese, Virginia

2nd Team
G – Emily Poelma, James Madison
D – Kerri Caruso, Old Dominion
D – Leslie Espenschied, Richmond
D – Natalie Ledwitz, Old Dominion
M – Alexa McGovern, George Mason
M – Sammy Meuller, Virginia
M – Elena Romesburg, James Madison
A – Besser Dyson, Virginia
A – Sam Geiersbach, Richmond
A – Sky Hyatt, Virginia Commonwealth
A – Kristine Loscalzo, Virginia Tech