March 2, 2018

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia women’s basketball senior Lauren Moses (Mount Holly, N.J.) and sophomore Jocelyn Willoughby (East Orange, N.J.) have been named to the 2018 All-ACC Academic Team, the Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced on Friday (March 2).

Moses hit two milestones this season in the final weeks of her Cavalier career, becoming the eighth player in program history to block 100 shots in her career as well as becoming the 34th member of UVA’s 1,000 Point Club. Moses, an inter-American studies major is averaging 7.5 points and 4.9 rebounds per game.

Willoughby is second on the team in rebounding, averaging 5.4 rebounds per game while also contributing 9.7 points per game. Willoughby was recently selected to be one of 25 fellows at the University of Virginia’s Meriwether Lewis Institute for Citizen Leadership. This is a very prestigious 2.5-year immersive leadership program that brings together a diverse group of UVA students that enroll in a Foundations in Design Thinking class their sophomore year before undertaking a six-week program in the summer before their junior year. As third and fourth year students, the Fellows apply what they’ve learned to key University issues, participating in independent and small group projects aimed at improving the University.

This is the second honor for both players after also being voted to the 2018 squad. The tandem are also co-captains on this year’s team.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team. The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

Kay Yow Award Winner (Scholar-Athlete of the Year): Lexie Brown, R-Sr., G, Duke; Markets & Management Studies

All-Academic Team
Andie Anastos, GS, G Boston College; Leadership/Administration
Danielle Edwards, Jr., G, Clemson; Sports Communications
Lexie Brown, R-Sr., G, Duke; Markets & Management Studies
Rebecca Greenwell, R-Sr., G, Duke; Markets & Management Studies
Erin Mathias, Sr., F/C, Duke; Visual Studies
Leaonna Odom, So., G, Duke; Undeclared
AJ Alix, R-Sr., G, Florida State; Criminology
Ama Degbeon, Sr., C, Florida State; Biological Science
Chatrice White, Sr., C, Florida State; Family and Child Sciences
Imani Wright, Sr., G, Florida State, African American Studies
Elo Edeferioka, R-Sr., F, Georgia Tech; Business Administration
Francesca Pan, So., G, Georgia Tech; Business Administration
Arica Carter, Jr., G, Louisville; Exercise Science and Pyschology
Sam Fuehring, Jr., F, Louisville; Sport Administration
Jazmine Jones, So., G, Louisville; Criminal Justice
Endia Banks, Fr., G, Miami; Undeclared
Kelsey Marshall, Fr., G, Miami; Broadcast Journalism
Emese Hof, Jr., G, Miami; Exercise Physiology
Taylor Koenen, So., G, North Carolina; Business Administration
Kiara Leslie, R-Jr., G, NC State; Liberal Studies
Akela Maize, Sr., C, NC State; Communications
Kalista Walters, Jr., C, Pitt; Media & Professional Studies
Gabby Cooper, So., G, Syracuse; Pyschology
Miranda Drummond, R-Jr., F, Syracuse; Health & Exercise Science
Digna Strautmane, Fr., F, Syracuse; Human Development
Lauren Moses, Sr., F, Virgina; Inter-American Studies
Jocelyn Willoughby, So., G, Virginia; Arts & Sciences
Taylor Emery, Jr., G, Virginia Tech; Creative Writing
Regan Magarity, Jr., F, Virginia Tech; Multimedia Journalism
Elisa Penna, Jr., F, Wake Forest; Anthropology/Psychology
Alex Sharp, So., G, Wake Forest; Psychology