MLB Postseason

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Former Cavaliers Sean Doolittle (2005-07) and Ryan Zimmerman (2003-05) are set to play in their first World Series on Tuesday night (Oct. 22) in Houston. The Cavaliers are the only college baseball program to have a player represented in the last four World Series. 
The Washington Nationals duo played together on Virginia’s 2005 NCAA Regional team and were members of the inaugural UVA Baseball Hall of Fame class in January of 2018.  Doolittle was a two-time All-American and was named 2006 ACC Player of the Year. Zimmerman became UVA’s highest MLB Draft pick when he was selected fourth overall in the 2005 MLB Draft and later became the first Cavalier to play in an MLB All-Star Game (2009).

2019 World Series Schedule
Tue. (Oct. 22) – Nationals at Astros – 8:08 p.m.
Wed. (Oct. 23) – Nationals at Astros – 8:07 p.m.
Fri. (Oct. 25) – Astros at Nationals – 8:07 p.m.
Sat. (Oct. 26) – Astros at Nationals – 8:07 p.m.
Sun. (Oct. 27) – Astros at Nationals – 8:07 p.m.
Tues. (Oct. 29) – Nationals at Astros – 8:07 p.m.
Wed. (Oct. 30) – Nationals at Astros – 8:08 p.m.
*All games on Fox
In the 2019 postseason, Zimmerman is batting .290 with three doubles a home run and five RBI. His three-run homer in game four of the National League Division Series helped the Nationals to a 6-1 victory, forcing a decisive game five.  

Doolittle, Washington’s only left-hander out of the bullpen, pitched in three of the four NLCS games and has worked six postseason games. He was credited with the hold in the NLCS clincher after pitching 1.2 innings of scoreless relief.


A post shared by Washington nationals (@nationals) on Oct 16, 2019 at 8:33am PDT

Virginia was one of six Division I college programs with three or more players in the 2019 MLB Postseason. Chris Taylor (2010-12) played for the Dodgers who were eliminated in the NLDS by Doolittle and Zimmerman’s Nationals. 

Cavaliers in the World Series All-Time
2019 – Ryan Zimmerman (Nationals), Sean Doolittle (Nationals),
2018 – Chris Taylor (Dodgers)
2017 – Derek Fisher (Astros)*, Chris Taylor (Dodgers)
2016 – Brandon Guyer (2016)
2014 – Javier Lopez (Giants)*
2012 – Javier Lopez (Giants)*
2010 – Javier Lopez (Giants)*
2007 – Javier Lopez (Red Sox)*
1987 – Ricky Horton (Cardinals)
1985 – Ricky Horton (Cardinals)
1915 – Eppa Rixey (Phillies)

*Indicates World Series Champion