CHALOTTESVILLE, Va. –Virginia placed 10 players on the 2019 Atlantic Coast Conference All-Academic Football Team, as announced by league commissioner John Swofford today (Jan. 30). It is the most single-year selections by a UVA squad since the ACC started the recognition program in 1954. The previous single-season high was nine players chosen in 1996.
It marks the fourth time in five seasons that UVA has had at least six All-ACC Academic honorees.
Linebacker Jordan Mack (Sr., Lithonia, Ga., youth and social innovation) and offensive tackle Dillon Reinkensmeyer (Jr., Highland Ranch, Colo., global studies) were honored for the third consecutive season. Mack was previously announced in December as the ACC’s Jim Tatum Award winner that is presented to the conference’s top football scholar-athlete.
Wide receiver/kick returner Joe Reed (Gr., Charlotte Court House, Va., educational psychology/MEd) picked up the accolade for the second consecutive year.
Cavaliers recognized for the first time were – defensive end Eli Hanback (Gr., Ashland, Va., higher education/MEd), offensive tackle Bobby Haskins, (So., Fairfield, Conn., undeclared), punter Nash Griffin, (Jr., Indianapolis, Ind., commerce), quarterback Bryce Perkins, (Sr., Queen Creek, Ariz., American studies),  safety Joey Blount, (Jr., Atlanta, Ga., American studies), tight end Tanner Cowley, (Gr., Manasquan, N.J., higher Education/MEd) and wide receiver Terrell Jana, (Jr., Vancouver, B.C., public policy & leadership).
Five of the players honored on the All-Academic team were also named to the All-ACC football team. That group includes Blount, Hanback, Mack, Perkins and Reed.

The ACC has selected an ACC All-Academic Team every year since 1954, and with the addition of the this year’s selections, UVA has had 240 student-athletes earn such honors since the inception of the award.

To be eligible for consideration for the team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his undergraduate and/or graduate academic career. All 14 ACC schools were represented on the team.